Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! The caramel layer was gooey, the cheesecake was creamy, and it was all around great! However, the bake time on it wasn't right. When I cut into the cheesecake, the middle was not cooked. So we could only eat the outside. Next time, I will not turn the oven way down to 225.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Schanze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Phenomenal cheesecake. I made it for my husband's birthday and he keeps on telling me, "Cheesecake doesn't get any better than this." I followed other's suggestions and saved half of the caramel & chocolate for the top of the cake. I read that putting flour in cheesecake gives it more of a cake-like consistency so I omitted that. It required a longer cooking time than in the original recipe, but it was absolutely worth the time and effort. Make the toffee-lovers in your life happy, and try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
The was an awesome recipe. It did take some time to make, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This cheesecake is awesome! I love toffee and I love cheesecake and this makes a great combination. It is very rich and the texture was perfect. I do not think I would ever try this one in a 9" pan. I sed a 10" and it was still a very thick cheesecake. I could not quit eating this. I had to cook it longer than the recipe required. I just kept checking it every few minutes until I felt that it was done. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
it was wonderful! i will definitely make this again.....with the changes that other reviewers mentioned. it lasted us a really long time and everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was awful. It was like eating a bowl of hot fudge. The cheesecake was masked entirely by the caramel/chocolate layers. If you still decide to make it, be sure to halve the caramel/chocolate mixture and then divide that between the top and bottom. Using an Oreo crust was further chocolate overkill, stick with vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Killer cheese cake! Made it for a special 50th B'day celebration. It was not an easy cake, because I do not make cakes very often. I did make some changes as suggested by other reviewers--like dividing the caramel (BUT, next time I will only save enough caramel to drizzle over top, because the top caramel layer made it too hard to cut the cake) & using chocolate wafers, also using a 10" pan (using 3c. wafers instead). Also, changed my cooking time to cook a bit longer. Did not add the toffee to the cheesecake batter as suggested by many--I like having the smooth cheesecake batter & the layer of toffee. I also made my own caramel sauce (only because I have a fantastic recipe) & yumm....it did the trick on this already killer cake. Allow yourself 1-2 days ahead to make it--I think it tasted the best the 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My customers lovvveeeddd this cheesecake so much so they think I am suppose to have it everyday. It is a keeper! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Awesome! I made this to take to a family gathering for Canadian Thanksgiving, and it received rave reviews. Reading the comments of others was very helpful - I made the recipe in a 10 inch springform pan. I used Oreo cookie crumbs (2 cups), half light cream cheese, and 5 eggs (instead of 4 eggs and two yolks). I put half of the caramel mixture over the baked cookie crumbs and the other half on the top of the cooked cheesecake. I folded 3 crushed Skor bars into the cream cheese batter and sprinkled a fourth crushed bar on top of the cheesecake (over the caramel layer). I baked the cheesecake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, and at 250 degrees for 1 hour and 35 minutes, with a pan of water on the oven rack below the cheesecake. I did let it cool for 24 hours before adding the saved caramel and crushed Skor bar. This is one cheesecake that you need to leave in the fridge until just before serving; it cuts easier this way. It is indeed very rich so small servings will suffice - especially after a turkey dinner! Thanks for the recipe Nancy and to all the reviewers for great suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This really good, but very rich!!! I used low fat crm cheese and splenda in place of sugar. I used chocolate crumbs for crust, I mixed the toffee into the cheese batter instead of sprinkling on top of caramel. I used half the caramel on top of crust and used other half to pour over top after it baked. Sprinkled toffee chunks on top of that. Looked great! Also on baking I did as others suggested. I baked per instructions (including the water bath), then turned off oven and let cake sit another hour in oven. It was PERFECT! Let sit in fridge about 24 hours and it cuts nicely! EVERYONE LOVED this and no one could tell I cut some calorie corners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States