Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I have made cheesecake every Thanksgiving for my family and friends and always get rave reviews and requests for more. My boyfriend said, "this is the worst cheesecake you have ever made." It has potential, but THIS RECIPE IS INCORRECT. I used a 9" pan, which was too small. I baked at 400F for 15 min, 225F for 2 HOURS, left the cheesecake in the oven for an hour before refrigerating, and chilled for 24 hours...still with a gooey center. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made this for my work Christmas party. Got good reviews, but I thought the layer of caramel/chocolate made the bottom crust too hard. Mixed toffee chips in with cream cheese mix. like other reviewers suggested. Saved half of caramel/choc. mix and drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Made this cheesecake for dinner with friends tonight, haven't tried it yet, but I know it is going to be amazing. I also used the 10 pan and mixed the toffee bars into the cake. I cooked at 400 for 15, then 225 for 2 hours. Low and slow! It was perfect, no cracks or anything. Cheesecakes are my favorite thing to make and I say I will def be using this recipe again, probably for Christmas. Thanks for the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elo
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Wow! my very first cheesecake, and it turned out awesome. i went by the reviews, and added time and i used a ten inch pan. I have always been intimidated by cheesecakes, but idecided to muster up the courage and just do it! i'm glad i did. i will definatly make this agian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
If this cheesecake was possible to cook in this method, it would be delicious. I followed the recipe exactly accept for mixing the toffee pieces into the cheesecake portion instead of sprinkling it onto the caramel layer. As for the baking portion, following previous reviews, I baked it for 2 hours instead of one, it still did not completely cook all the way through. The center was too soft and slightly runny. The taste, however, was great and I will make it again. The next time I will cook it at a higher temperature. EDIT***Tried this agin, this time I baked it at 350 degrees for 1 hour with a jelly roll pan of water on the lower rack and then left it in the oven for another hour. It came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I have made this probably a dozen times and EVERYONE loves it. I left out a star because it is not cheap to make and also very time consuming. I do think it is well worth it though! One thing I tried to cut down the cooking time tremendously was I made it into a bunch of little cupcakes which really have to be greased first to avoid sticking but pretty much the same concept and only takes about 20 minutes to cook. It was also loved that way! Also since the whole cake is around 10,000 calories I use the 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Tastes just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was pretty good. I mixed the toffee into the batter as suggested by others. I think next time I make it, I'll skip the caramel layer and instead top it with chocolate ganache and toffee bars. I think then it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I just made this for our Thanksgiving dinner...this was a great recipe - 1st time ever to make a cheesecake and it tasted awesome! Very decadent and major rave reviews (everyone thought it was bought at a specialty store - my husband had to confirm I made it;)!!! I made it as the recipe stated, but as many suggested, I split the caramel and choc layer between the crust and the top of the cake. Also, I put water in a pan on the rack below the cake and baked it a 1/2 hour longer at 225. Everything went fine - no cracks until near the end, but it was no biggie...I think that adds to the cheesecake appearance, but could be covered up w/sauce. Since this was my first cheesecake, I decided to keep the toffee out of the cheesecake. I'm happy I did, because the taste and consistency of the cheesecake was perfect (this would be great on its own!). Although, next time I'll try this variation. The only problem I had was the same as others - hard to cut cleanly through the caramel. Next time, I'll probably cut the caramel/chocolate layer portion in half (or thin it), and still put 1/2 on the crust and drizzle the other 1/2 on top. (BTW - if anyone can tell me how to drizzle properly, I'd love to know. I tried it with a fork and spoon on top, but couldn't get it right (big drops); so I ended up spreading a light layer on top (still have quite a bit in the bowl). Overall...THANK YOU VERY MUCH for such a wonderful recipe. Despite the difficulty with the carmel/chocolate layer, i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I didn't mix the toffee into the cheesecake because I like that part to be smooth. I did add caramel and toffee to the bottom and top of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetCravings
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was fabulous! The only reason why it didn't get 5 stars was because of the baking time/temperature issue. IF YOU BAKE THIS CAKE FOR THE TIME/TEMPERATURE STATED, IT WILL NOT BE COOKED THROUGH. I baked mine at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and then reduced the heat to 225 and baked for 1 hour and 40 minutes. It came out perfect. I placed a pan of water on the rack below the cheesecake, and no cracks! Make sure the internal temperature of your cheesecake reaches between 160 and 165 degrees and you won't encounter any unwanted surprises. I did what other reviewers did and used half of the caramel mixture over the crust and the other half over the top of the cheesecake. This recipe is time consuming, but worth the effort. Also, when making the caramel/chocolate mixture, make sure you melt the caramel SLOWLY or it will become really hard when it sets on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States