Toffee Caramel Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I love this recipe! I have made it several times and am always amazed by how simple it is. For the the glaze, I used butter instead of shortening as I never seem to have shortening in the house. These are very much a crowd favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made this for a holiday party, and the chocolate never did set.. maybe I added too much shortening? .. I must've added to much.. anyway It was soft, but tasted great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVE these. As an added bonus, they don't have eggs in them, so for vegetarians who don't eat eggs, they're a good alternative to brownies or cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tante Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These things make your kitchen smell divine, and are TASTY!! Watch out, they'll go fast! Two things, both of which I've noticed other reviewers mentioning.. although these bars came out fantastic, next time I'll make them I'll make more (maybe even double) the caramel layer, and I'll definitely note that letting the caramel cool before spreading the chocolate layer on top is an absolute must. Enjoy enjoy enjoy!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These were good but next time I think I will double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I used chocolate wafers and melted them in a double broiler. Once melted, i blended in chocolate frosting. It cut very easily, and it didn't break as other reviewers mentioned. I tried cutting them while warm, but the chocolate just melted together. I waited till it cooled, and it was super easy! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Fabulous! I make these every Christmas and they are eated up right away. We call them Twix bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Awesome squares, my mom always made these, they are a Christmas treat here. A few tips.Line your baking pan with parchment paper, freeze caramel layer, then when chocolate layer is hardened, remove entire contents using the parchement paper, and place on a cutting board and cut into small squares using a large knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I like the caramel and chocolate part of this dessert but do not like the bottom layer. It was too thick for my taste and did not have much flavor. Would make again but with a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States