Toffee Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was phenominal! I had people in pain, it was so good that it hurt! For the crust I used half a cup of oats, a quarter cup of crushed graham crackers and a quarter cup of shredded coconut (dessicated coconut). I also sprinkled the top layer with coconut along with the walnuts. Fantastic! The gooey layer of condensed milk is a taste that can't compare with anything else. OBVIOUSLY I will make these again and again and again.... **Note: be sure to grease your pan well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VD711
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
So easy to make, so delicious, and looks great on a cookie tray! I followed the recipe exactly...but to make things easier, I lined my 9x13 pan with foil and sprayed generously with cooking spray. I ground up the walnuts for the crust in my food processor. Once the bars came out of the oven, I sprinkled on the choco chips, then put back in the oven for less than a minute, this really helped melt the chocolate and made it easy to spread. Also, I topped my bars with toffee brickle bits instead of nuts. One more helpful hint - I had trouble getting my chocolate to set, and you can't cut these until the chocolate has hardened. Once the bars have cooled, place them in the fridge for about 30 minutes to set the chocolate, then cut. I cut mine into triangles...so pretty. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again! Everyone thought these cookies were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
These taste delicious, but were a little thinner/flatter than I expected. I think next time I will double the caramel layer so you notice it more. As it is the chocolate kind of overwhelms the toffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Major yumminess! They're very rich. I cut them into small bites just big enough to pop into your mouth. I think only about 1 1/2 cups choco chips are enough. But really, how can something have too much chocolate? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These were very good, but I would use milk choco chips next time. It was just too much with the semi-sweet (and I only used 1.25 cups, not 2). The chocolate kind of "hides" the caramel. I put this in a 7x11 instead of 9x13, which worked very well. Otherwise it would have been too thin (thanks to reviewers who pointed this out). My condensed milk kind of curdled too on the stovetop, but it turned out ok. I used whole wheat pastry flour and rolled oats. Next time, I would omit the nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The end result was delicious but I encountered some problems while making these bars. First off, I don't think I baked the crust long enough and I think I might have over cooked the condensed milk as it started to almost curdle and then when pouring it over the crust, there was not enough so I ended up using two cans of condensed milk. Overall the ended up tasting awesome especially for those that love the condensed milk gooey-ness. They were baked for my family reunion christmas party and I ended up getting lots of compliments and they were devoured fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and this is not something I will make again. I lined the pan with tin foil and also sprayed the foil and they are a mess to get out. They are very rich and almost like candy bars but too rich for me. The 7 layer bars are so much better and I felt this was a waste of ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very, very good and rich! I let the crust cook a little too long and the edges were hard. I set my timer for 10 minutes and that seemed a tad too long...so maybe closer to 8 or 9 minutes next time. I loved the condensed milk layer. Definitely for those who have a major sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
this is the exact recipe that I have been trying to get from a friend but always forget to ask. A couple things to remember, though...the milk does NOT take 15 minutes, more like 5 and to keep the chocolate flavor from overwhelming it, I like to just sprinkle the chips, keeping their shape and not spread them. Thank you Eagle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I HAVE USED THIS RECIPE FOR OVER 15 YEARS. IT IS THE BEST. I have varied it by using white chocolate chips and drizziling milk choclate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JavaQueen2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States