Toffee Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was phenominal! I had people in pain, it was so good that it hurt! For the crust I used half a cup of oats, a quarter cup of crushed graham crackers and a quarter cup of shredded coconut (dessicated coconut). I also sprinkled the top layer with coconut along with the walnuts. Fantastic! The gooey layer of condensed milk is a taste that can't compare with anything else. OBVIOUSLY I will make these again and again and again.... **Note: be sure to grease your pan well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very, very good and rich! I let the crust cook a little too long and the edges were hard. I set my timer for 10 minutes and that seemed a tad too long...so maybe closer to 8 or 9 minutes next time. I loved the condensed milk layer. Definitely for those who have a major sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
It doesn't get much better than these! They are absolutely fantastic, fast, and easy to make. I use 1/4 cup of flaked coconut in the crust like another reviewer suggested and nummy! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The end result was delicious but I encountered some problems while making these bars. First off, I don't think I baked the crust long enough and I think I might have over cooked the condensed milk as it started to almost curdle and then when pouring it over the crust, there was not enough so I ended up using two cans of condensed milk. Overall the ended up tasting awesome especially for those that love the condensed milk gooey-ness. They were baked for my family reunion christmas party and I ended up getting lots of compliments and they were devoured fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
These taste delicious, but were a little thinner/flatter than I expected. I think next time I will double the caramel layer so you notice it more. As it is the chocolate kind of overwhelms the toffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These were very good, but I would use milk choco chips next time. It was just too much with the semi-sweet (and I only used 1.25 cups, not 2). The chocolate kind of "hides" the caramel. I put this in a 7x11 instead of 9x13, which worked very well. Otherwise it would have been too thin (thanks to reviewers who pointed this out). My condensed milk kind of curdled too on the stovetop, but it turned out ok. I used whole wheat pastry flour and rolled oats. Next time, I would omit the nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were great! I'm just getting ready to make a second batch so that we have some to give away this holiday- we've eaten most of the first batch! I like them as much as I love the caramel shortbread squares on this site. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are THE BOMB! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These were so good I think I ate them all that is why I gained 5 pounds,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gustafson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made several types of cookies this Christmas. These were the favorite, by far!!!!!!!! A little like cookies, a little like candy, they literally melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States