Toffee Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
this is the exact recipe that I have been trying to get from a friend but always forget to ask. A couple things to remember, though...the milk does NOT take 15 minutes, more like 5 and to keep the chocolate flavor from overwhelming it, I like to just sprinkle the chips, keeping their shape and not spread them. Thank you Eagle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
needed to double the condensed milk layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I use Hershey's chocolate bars instead of chips. Put them on as soon as the bars come out of the oven the second time. They smooth out easily and are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I loved the crunchy texture of these bars and they tasted good, but I found the toffee layer got kind of lost between crust and chocolate. Next time I will probably double the toffee part and/or reduce the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Really good - and easy! A bit too much chocolate for me, but my co-workers who gobbled it up didn't seem to think so! Quite rich, but great with a cup of coffee. Interestingly several called it the "peanut butter thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I HAVE USED THIS RECIPE FOR OVER 15 YEARS. IT IS THE BEST. I have varied it by using white chocolate chips and drizziling milk choclate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JavaQueen2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I've yet to find one person who didn't fall in love with this recipe. A must have for your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Followed directions as shown - turned out fantastic - very nice change from cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Easy to make. My family enjoyed them. They are very rich! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was so easy to make! I didn't have a candy thermometer...instead I just watched for the dark amber color to appear (about 10-15 minutes). The only thing I would say to do is be sure to spread the toffee out with a spatula after pouring it onto the parchment paper. I let it spread on it's own and realized when I broke it apart that the middle was a lot thicker. Also, I toasted slivered almonds on 375 for a couple minutes to bring out the nutty flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States