Toffee Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this bar the first time today. When they tell you to press firmly in the pan, be careful how much you press it down. It got so hard, I had a hard time getting it out of the pan. I sprayed the pan beforehand, as was told, but also floured it. That usually makes for easy removal. It didn't help. I used chocolate chunks because I didn't have a full bag of chips. If you like chocolate, you'll like the chunks. Also, next time I make these I will do the bottom 1 1/2 times, i.e., 9 tbsps. of margarine or butter, 1 1/2 cups oats, 3/4 cups brown sugar, etc. I found the 14 oz of sweetened condensed milk (step 2) enough, unlike another review. I did add extra nuts to the top too. It's a good bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I really wanted to like this recipe but its too rich and sweet for my liking. I followed what many reviews said by putting less chocolate chips in recipe and yet the chocolate was still overbearing. Well my grandma loves it so I guess Ill make this for her but it wont be something I'll make for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
YUMMY! I made this recipe but used pecans instead of walnuts. sooo yummy! I took the majority of the bars and put it on top of a chocolate pudding pie and topped with whipped cream. Tastes delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is most definitely the 8X8 recipe, not 13x9. It ended up so thin that I ended up cutting & stacking them. Tastes fine, but it really thin and looks like a mistake unless they're stacked. If I make it again I'll either double the recipe or press them into an 8x8 instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I must have done something wrong?? I followed the directions exactly but I really don't think they turned out very good. The crust is mushy and gross. My Mom's recipe is much better than this. I'm disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
A nice chocolate treat. I messed up in making these and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and this is not something I will make again. I lined the pan with tin foil and also sprayed the foil and they are a mess to get out. They are very rich and almost like candy bars but too rich for me. The 7 layer bars are so much better and I felt this was a waste of ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These were FABULOUS! I made them as a gift for my secret Cupid at work. He was so excited to get a homemade treat. He ate them all right away. Couldn't get enough. Of course I saved some for myself. So delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Major yumminess! They're very rich. I cut them into small bites just big enough to pop into your mouth. I think only about 1 1/2 cups choco chips are enough. But really, how can something have too much chocolate? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Verrry good. All of the aspects of the recipe mixed together wonderfully. It was very thin, though and I might double the recipie for the filling and bake it longer. Either that or use less chocolate chips as the chocolate flavor somewhat took over. I followed the recipe exactly and don't regret it, though. It was still amazing. I'm making this for a friend in the hospital. Hopeshe likes em! They sure loook good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States