Toffee Bar Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This coffee cake was lovely but because of my allergy i dropped peanuts but it still tasted fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this for my husband to take to work for a going away function and it was a huge hit. Very easy to make, tastes very yummy too!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend who loves coffee cake, i did increase the flour and decrease the milk each by only about 1/4 cup, this cake was delicious and stayed moist and fresh for several days!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I expected to LOVE this cake...and was underwhelmed. The flavor was okay, but something about using peanuts kind of ruined it for me. There are so many great coffee cakes out there. This isn't one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Very good. I made it the day prior, based on other reviewers stating that it was very moist even a day or two after prep. So moist, that it did crumble a bit when handled (oven temp/ingredients/baking time were right on). I may increase the flour / decrease the milk a little next time to firm it up just a bit more. I also substituted pre-crushed toffee bits (usually in the baking aisle by the chocolate chips) instead of crushing the bars, and substituted chopped pecans for the peanuts. Personal preference. Pecans just seem to have a sweeter flavor to them, and I think lend themselves well to a baked dessert recipe. I can't imagine this being bad with any kind of nut, however. Except pine nuts ;-). Mmmmm.......mmmmmmmm........toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe! This is so good the first day, but is sooooo much better the next day and stays moist for several days. I used packaged toffee bits to avoid breaking up the candy bars. We prefer the bits w/o chocolate for this recipe. We love this recipe and people with whom we've shared the cake beg us to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. Everyone at work just loved this. Next time I make this I will substitute peanuts for macadamia nuts. I bet you could use almonds or pecans. This is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I served this at a ladies luncheon and everyone finished their serving and commented they liked it. I didn't have toffee bars but had toffee chips and chocolate chips. I used 6 oz of toffee chips and about 1/4 cup or less of chocolate chips. My husband said it was okay but I keep catching him snitching the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Thank you V, for sharing this recipe; one of the faves. I used buttermilk (tender) and pecans instead, and increased butter to 8 tbs (1 stick = 125g); made my own toffee choc bar. Added more vanilla flavour. I've even made this with less nuts and toffee which went into the mix instead of as streusel topping, yum yum. Oh and only 1 cup scant brown sugar, with the toffee it is just enough sweetness. This is for those who likes lots of buttery nutty tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is one of the best coffee cakes that I have baked. I have made the recipe 3 times in the past week. Once for my husband and myself, and twice to take to an outing of women golfers. Everyone loved it. Very easy, except for "smashing" the toffee bars...that required a little more effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States