Toffee Bar Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was my first try at baking a cheesecake and it was wonderful! Very easy to make and tasted amazing!! I did sprinkle some additional toffee on the top after baking. I also melted a Symphony bar and drizzled on the top. Everyone has asked for the recipe! Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I think this is a wonderful quality recipe. I tried to do a water bath, but didn't have any pans big enough, so I just put another pan of water in the oven to steam during cooking...it worked! No cracks at all! :) I did have some people say it was a little too sweet or too rich for their liking, but after the fact I noticed that I'd accidentally used the King Size 2.8 oz. toffee bars instead of 1.4 oz., essentially DOUBLING the amount of candy bar the recipe called for--oops! For someone like me who likes things very sweet and decadent, it was perfect, but I just want to warn everyone else to pay better attention to the actual size of candy you're buying as opposed to just the number of bars. A suggestion I was given was to do a layer of just plain cheesecake mixture (before adding the crushed toffee bar bits), and then having the richer toffee-cheesecake blend on top of that...but that could have been because my mistake made the cake richer than that particular person would have liked. No matter what, I thought it was wonderful, so it's a 5 star recipe for me! Also, after making it and refrigerating for a few hours, I opened up the springform pan to make sure nothing had stuck (it hadn't), tightened it again and covered tightly with foil...I left it in the freezer for 4 days before thawing in the fridge the day before serving. I don't think ANYONE would've known that it wasn't freshly made...very impressive. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I was apprehensive about trying this recipe because there were no ratings, but went ahead with it anyway. It turned out delicious! As good as a cheesecake you get at the coffee shop!! The toffee bits melt right into the cheese and give it a great subtle flavor-next time I'll layer big chunks of a Heath bar in the crust to make it even more interesting. I'll make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My crust was a little soggy but some water may have leaked in from the water bath. However, even with that little snafu, it still tasted absolutely delicious. I used Skor candy bars and crushed them as finely as possible but it was actually nice to get a little chunk of Skor in a bite. The directions for the water bath really worked -- no cracking! I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was delicious and memorable! I took it to a family gathering for Thanksgiving and one of my cousin requested it for his birthday treat in March! I bought a package of the heath bar bits instead of crushing the bars on my own. I sprinkled the leftovers on top of the cheesecake and then topped with stripes of melted chocolate (I used Hershey's bars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this cheesecake for my boyfriend's mentor's birthday. He is a former world traveler, and has eaten rich desserts in five-star restaurants all over the world, and swore that this was by far the most delicious cheesecake he had ever eaten in his life. I felt the same way, and everyone else attending agreed. I absolutely love this recipe, and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow! Absolutely the best!! Everyone who tries it loves it!! I have added 1 broken up toffee candy bar to the crust!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! This cheesecake is amazing and so easy to make. I have adjusted the recipe to my liking however. I use 3 bricks of cream cheese and 3 eggs. Also I add an extra heath bar or two in the mix and add more on top along with drizzled chocolate and caramel. It is so good. I have made it quite a few times now and it has been requested on several occassions. Don't hesitate to make this based on other reviews, it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I don't bake very often and have never been able to make a recipe that was literally irresistible. This cheesecake will be my first! The whole thing was gone within minutes..and me being very critical of my own dishes-- I couldn't stop eating it! Such an easy, amazing, UNBELIEVABLE recipe that everyone will ask for again and again. The set-apart for this cheesecake is the skor bits and the water bath for me (never used a water bath before but wow does it make a difference!) I would suggest grinding the skor pieces in a blender but keeping them chunky so they melt nicely with the softness of the cheese in the cheesecake. Another thing... most crust recipes include graham crackers + butter and that's it... But adding the extra cup of sugar caramelizes with the butter making the crust itself taste like a piece of skor bar. Be prepared to be creative with decoration. Comes out of the oven looking pretty ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Made this and its fab! Really creamy and tasty with a great cobination of textures, crumbly base, smooth cheese filling topped with a crunchy sweet shavings of toffee. Yum, i would give this a rating of 5 but the calorific value of 1 slice is 1/8th of a ladies daily recomended intake...:-# All in all, a wicked party dessert...a cheesecake you wont want to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States