Toffee Bar Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I don't bake very often and have never been able to make a recipe that was literally irresistible. This cheesecake will be my first! The whole thing was gone within minutes..and me being very critical of my own dishes-- I couldn't stop eating it! Such an easy, amazing, UNBELIEVABLE recipe that everyone will ask for again and again. The set-apart for this cheesecake is the skor bits and the water bath for me (never used a water bath before but wow does it make a difference!) I would suggest grinding the skor pieces in a blender but keeping them chunky so they melt nicely with the softness of the cheese in the cheesecake. Another thing... most crust recipes include graham crackers + butter and that's it... But adding the extra cup of sugar caramelizes with the butter making the crust itself taste like a piece of skor bar. Be prepared to be creative with decoration. Comes out of the oven looking pretty ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! This cheesecake is amazing and so easy to make. I have adjusted the recipe to my liking however. I use 3 bricks of cream cheese and 3 eggs. Also I add an extra heath bar or two in the mix and add more on top along with drizzled chocolate and caramel. It is so good. I have made it quite a few times now and it has been requested on several occassions. Don't hesitate to make this based on other reviews, it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow! Absolutely the best!! Everyone who tries it loves it!! I have added 1 broken up toffee candy bar to the crust!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this for my son's 20th birthday this past weekend. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust because I had them and thought it would be good, and used Heath "bits o' brickle" in a bag, mixed into the cheesecake filling. If I were to to do this again, I would get some regular Heath bars and crunch them up and sprinkle them on the top of the cheesecake, for visual interest and added chocolate. The recipe was very easy (definitely do the water bath) and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This cheesecake sounded so good, but i was disappointed with the final product. There are way to many eggs in the recipe. It came out tasting like a sweet quiche more than a cheesecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was my first try at baking a cheesecake and it was wonderful! Very easy to make and tasted amazing!! I did sprinkle some additional toffee on the top after baking. I also melted a Symphony bar and drizzled on the top. Everyone has asked for the recipe! Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I think this is a wonderful quality recipe. I tried to do a water bath, but didn't have any pans big enough, so I just put another pan of water in the oven to steam during cooking...it worked! No cracks at all! :) I did have some people say it was a little too sweet or too rich for their liking, but after the fact I noticed that I'd accidentally used the King Size 2.8 oz. toffee bars instead of 1.4 oz., essentially DOUBLING the amount of candy bar the recipe called for--oops! For someone like me who likes things very sweet and decadent, it was perfect, but I just want to warn everyone else to pay better attention to the actual size of candy you're buying as opposed to just the number of bars. A suggestion I was given was to do a layer of just plain cheesecake mixture (before adding the crushed toffee bar bits), and then having the richer toffee-cheesecake blend on top of that...but that could have been because my mistake made the cake richer than that particular person would have liked. No matter what, I thought it was wonderful, so it's a 5 star recipe for me! Also, after making it and refrigerating for a few hours, I opened up the springform pan to make sure nothing had stuck (it hadn't), tightened it again and covered tightly with foil...I left it in the freezer for 4 days before thawing in the fridge the day before serving. I don't think ANYONE would've known that it wasn't freshly made...very impressive. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this cheesecake for my boyfriend's mentor's birthday. He is a former world traveler, and has eaten rich desserts in five-star restaurants all over the world, and swore that this was by far the most delicious cheesecake he had ever eaten in his life. I felt the same way, and everyone else attending agreed. I absolutely love this recipe, and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious! I followed all of the instructions exactly except for putting it in a water bath, and it did quite nicely. Drizzling chocolate and caramel syrups on the top and adding more Heath pieces added a nice touch, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Made this and its fab! Really creamy and tasty with a great cobination of textures, crumbly base, smooth cheese filling topped with a crunchy sweet shavings of toffee. Yum, i would give this a rating of 5 but the calorific value of 1 slice is 1/8th of a ladies daily recomended intake...:-# All in all, a wicked party dessert...a cheesecake you wont want to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States