Toe's Best Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Why would you put tomato sauce in this salsa rather than diced tomatoes?? From looking at the picture, this looks like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was GREAT! I have made other good salsa recipes but so far this one is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Excellent, quick, and 100% tastes fresh - even with canned tomatoes. The baseline ingredients are always on hand, witht the exception of the sorrento pepper - which i omit. My slight modifications are to use petite diced tomatoes, add 1 tsp of cumin, and coarse sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
It was really liquidy and I didnt realize it made so much, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Made half the recipe. This didn't have enough acid for me, so after blending I added 1 tbs lime juice. Sadly, I had to cut out all but 1 jalapeño, and that was small, because my mom can't take any heat. But the flavors were good, and this is one of those really good base recipes. I later decided I wanted a chunky salsa so added one large fresh diced tomato. On tasting it with my chips, it needed salt, so threw in a pinch. I've been making salsa crude for years and with the added tomato, lime and salt, this is exactly what I was looking for in restaurant table salsa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Thanks for this great salsa. Easy to make. Hit at our holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supermom73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
very easy to make. I used one can sauce, and one can diced tomatoes. I omitted the serrano pepper as I didn't have one on hand. Somehow, the onion that I used was SUPER strong, so now that the flavors have mingled overnight I will add additional lime juice to tone down the overpowering onion. I usually make Pico de Gallo, but was looking for more of a Taqueria-type salsa for a dish I was making. This fits the bill. This type of salsa is sometimes referred to as 'Ranchero' salsa. Thanks, Toe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Love it! I've made this recipe several times now. Got rave reviews from guests. I LOVE it! Except that I truly can only handle mild spiciness. "Medium" pace salsa is a bit much for me. SO, I just don't use the serranos. Even "de-veining" as suggested in the notes doesn't make it a mild salsa. So I omit the serranos all together. It still tastes WONDERFUL!! THANK YOU THANK YOU! I'm going to learn how to jar this so that I can just have it whenever I want! :) It's way better tasting to me than anything I can get from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was good but hot! I made a half batch with minor changes- homemade sauce, 2 jalapenos(because I had no serranos) and the hard to measure amounts of cilantro and lime juice. Cilantro ended up being the predominant flavor and then just followed by the heat. I will make this again but try to quantify the amounts since my reason for making this is to try to find a recipe that I could make consistently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Loved it! I followed other reviewers and used one can tomato sauce and one can diced tomatoes for a chunkier salsa. It was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States