Toasted Strawberry-Cream Cheese Breakfast Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
We made this for dinner tonight. Words cannot express how yummy this is! Definitely a keeper. We don't drink, so I marinated the berries in orange juice instead. And we added a sprinkling of powdered sugar on top. It was so good! Next time, I think I will use the whipped spreadable cream cheese. It will amaze it both easier to spread, it will be easier to mix in the juice and chocolate. It might be good dipped in egg and French toasted instead as wll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Really rich but really good! A keeper for an occassional splurge for us. I didn't use the sparking wine and I subbed orange extract for the orange zest, but the flavor was still really good. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Oh, my! Absolutely delicious! I did alter the recipe though. I am not a fan of sparling wine, so I simply sat the strawberries in some water with sugar. I didn't have an orange, so I omitted the orange zest. Added everything else. It was a dream brunch. I'll be having some this coming weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tymika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good but a couple of things...because I was feeding kids, I used sprite instead of sparkling wine. I also wish I had chopped the strawberries up a lot smaller...almost diced. The person who said that they burn quickly was right. I also didn't use cin. raisin bread since we don't like raisins. They're rich, but really good. We're calling them 'Breakfast Monte Cristos'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was just lovely! I'm looking forward to the occasion to make exactly as stated, but I did make some changes - used the whole wheat bread I had on hand, fat free cream cheese, omitted white chocolate, sweetened cream cheese with a little honey and mascerated strawberries in a little orange juice and sugar - yet still resulted in a decadent, satisfying breakfast. Well, maybe a little something was missing with the fat free cream cheese...if I'm doing this "just for me" next time I might spring for low fat cream cheese instead. Anyway, the original version would make a stellar addition to any brunch menu or special occasion breakfast - I'm sure I will be trying it soon, and many more times to come! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
PERFECT!!! My mother loved these for Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
What a great recipe! I made this for a bridal brunch we had for work and everyone loved it. It was something different from the usual fare of eggs and meat. It was very refreshing. The previous poster was correct about watching closely as it's toasting. I did the prep work the night before. I did marinate in red sparkling grape juice instead of champagne and it was tasty. Let mixture come to room temp before spreading if prepared night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Delicious! I didn't use the champagne either, just fresh strawberries- and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
At last, something fun to make for a special occasion breakfast besides the typical pancakes/waffles/french toast fare! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and we both really liked it. I used a plane grater to grate the chocolate rather than chop it, and since he does not drink I skipped the step with the wine and just used plain sliced strawberries. The sandwiches turned out great--pretty to look at and so tasty to eat. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ange Rayner
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
These are fantastic!!!! I hope everyone enjoys this recipe. Just a few notes to make them perfect: Watch the heat of the skillet as the bread toasts really quickly, never walk away as you will probably burn them. Turn the heat to approx medium, if not a little less. If you keep it low you can cook them a little longer without burning the bread and the cream cheese mix will go all creamy and gooey! Yummmmmmm :) I made these without the pink champagne the other morning as we didn’t have any on hand and the bottle shop wasn't open. They were just as good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States