Toasted Pumpkin Seeds with Sugar and Spice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very tasty! I roasted the seeds on a foil-lined pan, sprayed with non-stick spray to keep them from sticking. This made for easy clean-up, and also was an easy way to transfer the seeds to the pan. I read some of the reviews, and decided to heat the oil and melt the sugar ahead of time, BEFORE adding the seeds. (I used 1 T. oil, 1 T. margarine, and a drop of water with the 2T. sugar.) I set this aside as I waited for the seeds to finish toasting, which took 35 minutes at 275 degrees. I added the toasted seeds to the melted sugar mixture, and tossed them together over medium heat. Then I added the spice/sugar mixture, removed the pan from the heat, and mixed all until well coated. (I did not feel that there was a need for a separate bowl; I did all the mixing in one pan.) I added a bit more cinnamon and used only 4T. sugar overall, instead of the 6T. it calls for. This is definitely better than the traditional salt-only roasted seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was exceptionally delicious! I like pumpkin seeds to be completely crunchy so, I baked them at 275 degrees until they had just a little bit of a golden color to them them. Then I put them in the pan with half butter and extra-virgin olive oil, sugar and waited for them to get even more of a golden color(caramelize). I liked the sweet and salty mix! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Unfortunately I got so excited to make these I didn't read all of the instructions. I toasted the seeds in the oven with the pumpkin pie spice, sugar, salt & Oil all at once. I think the outcome is the same. But made even the wrong way these are the best pumpkins seeds I have ever had. I have been doing seeds for ten years and I will always make a few batches like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These are so good. However I think it has to much sugar. I only used 4 TBS and it was way more than enough. I will make again next year. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is such a great recipe for pumpkin seeds. I left my seeds on the counter over night and I still toasted in the oven for 35min. I did double the recipe. I gutted 2 pumpkins which gave me 2 cups of seeds exactly.I just loved the flavor of the pumpkin spice. I made them for a Halloween party that is 2 days away and I hope they last that long! Thanks Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was easy and delicous like everyone has said. I will double the recipe next time because i ate it all in one sitting. PS really watch your seeds mine were toasted in about 30 min any longer and they would of been burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Yummy! Instead of baking the seeds and then cooking them in the pan, I just coated and baked the seeds. I only used 5 T. of sugar. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These are extremely addictive...I'm just going to have a buy a bigger pumpkin next time to get more seeds out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have to agree with reviewer Valerie on this one. Ditto everything she said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I never really cared for pumpkin seeds before this recipe, but I loved these. After carving out jack-o-lanterns this year my daughter requested that I make some pumpkin seeds for her. So I found this recipe and tried it. I think I ended up eating more of the seeds than she did, and we made a double batch of them again a few days later. I can't wait until next year to do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States