Toasted Pumpkin Seeds with Sugar and Spice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was exceptionally delicious! I like pumpkin seeds to be completely crunchy so, I baked them at 275 degrees until they had just a little bit of a golden color to them them. Then I put them in the pan with half butter and extra-virgin olive oil, sugar and waited for them to get even more of a golden color(caramelize). I liked the sweet and salty mix! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very tasty! I roasted the seeds on a foil-lined pan, sprayed with non-stick spray to keep them from sticking. This made for easy clean-up, and also was an easy way to transfer the seeds to the pan. I read some of the reviews, and decided to heat the oil and melt the sugar ahead of time, BEFORE adding the seeds. (I used 1 T. oil, 1 T. margarine, and a drop of water with the 2T. sugar.) I set this aside as I waited for the seeds to finish toasting, which took 35 minutes at 275 degrees. I added the toasted seeds to the melted sugar mixture, and tossed them together over medium heat. Then I added the spice/sugar mixture, removed the pan from the heat, and mixed all until well coated. (I did not feel that there was a need for a separate bowl; I did all the mixing in one pan.) I added a bit more cinnamon and used only 4T. sugar overall, instead of the 6T. it calls for. This is definitely better than the traditional salt-only roasted seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Unfortunately I got so excited to make these I didn't read all of the instructions. I toasted the seeds in the oven with the pumpkin pie spice, sugar, salt & Oil all at once. I think the outcome is the same. But made even the wrong way these are the best pumpkins seeds I have ever had. I have been doing seeds for ten years and I will always make a few batches like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These are so good. However I think it has to much sugar. I only used 4 TBS and it was way more than enough. I will make again next year. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is such a great recipe for pumpkin seeds. I left my seeds on the counter over night and I still toasted in the oven for 35min. I did double the recipe. I gutted 2 pumpkins which gave me 2 cups of seeds exactly.I just loved the flavor of the pumpkin spice. I made them for a Halloween party that is 2 days away and I hope they last that long! Thanks Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was easy and delicous like everyone has said. I will double the recipe next time because i ate it all in one sitting. PS really watch your seeds mine were toasted in about 30 min any longer and they would of been burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRDennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Yummy! Instead of baking the seeds and then cooking them in the pan, I just coated and baked the seeds. I only used 5 T. of sugar. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These are extremely addictive...I'm just going to have a buy a bigger pumpkin next time to get more seeds out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have to agree with reviewer Valerie on this one. Ditto everything she said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I never really cared for pumpkin seeds before this recipe, but I loved these. After carving out jack-o-lanterns this year my daughter requested that I make some pumpkin seeds for her. So I found this recipe and tried it. I think I ended up eating more of the seeds than she did, and we made a double batch of them again a few days later. I can't wait until next year to do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States