Toasted Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I've been making these for years- only 4 stars, because the butter content is too high. Use 1 stick per 5 cups of pecans...melt the butter in a shallow glass dish in the oven. Stir in a dash of garlic powder. Add nuts, stir gently until coated. Remove to baking pan with a SLOTTED spoon, to remove excess butter. Bake & shake every 10 minutes until done to your taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
I thought these were great. I only had them in the oven about 25 minutes before they started looking like they were burning. My oven is off quite a bit though. Just peek at them every 10 minutes the first time you make them. My husband thought they were a little too rich to eat on their own, but is taking some to work to put on his salad. I might experiment with some additional seasonings next time. Garlic salt or parmesan would be great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I made these last Christmas for myself and friends. They were delicious and easy - I do suggest that you keep an eye on them in order to keep them from getting overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Very tasty. I toasted at 300 degrees for 10 - 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Okay...so I am saute'ing onions thinking the smell is so wonderful, when I decided to throw these pecans in the oven (for another recipe). Oh my goodness! These are sinfully delicious!!! They melt in your mouth and fragrance your house with a sweet scent. I will make these agian for sure - if it were possible to rate this recipe more than 5 stars, consider that my rating! YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I have made this recipe many times and use two egg whites slightly beaten to moisten the pecans with. They are wonderful and less calories. Follow the recipe givn for oven temperature and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
It took all the self control I could muster not to polish these off myself! The next time I make these I will cut down on the butter. It took me quite a few paper towels to blot off the excess. They only took 45 minutes in a 275 degree oven to toast up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I use 4 tablespoons butter, 1 tablespoon sugar and 1 tablespoon Tony's Seasoning. 1 cup of butter is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
These are so great! They were barely out of the oven and I had eaten a double handful. I did save enough to give as a hostess gift along with some praline coffee. I agree with other reviews that they may not need to be cooked for a whole hour..mine were plenty done in about 40 minutes. I look forward to making these every holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Like others, I lowered the amount of butter. I also added brown sugar to the butter, and while toasting I threw on some maple syrup. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Pecans

Discover what these versatile, all-American nuts can do for your cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States