Toasted Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Used the recipe as is and it is inedible. We like salt but this is beyond salty. If I ever make it again I would use garlic powder or onion powder. I added a little more butter, several cups of cereal and re-heated to try to salvage it. Other than too salty the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good but I use onion salt instead of celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made without celery salt, but was great even with the omission, perfect for the kids to help with and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
OMG, this was sooooo salty! I tried making another batch without salt to lighten it up, The flavour was good... but, if I made it again I might try making it with 1/4 of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I rarely make a new recipe without reading the reviews. I did with this one because the ingredients looked right compared to other recipes I have for party mix. This turned out to be a big mistake! The only change I made to the recipe was to use butter instead of marj. and cut it back to 3/4 cup instead of a cup. I probably could have cut it to 1/2 cup. I used all the salts in the amounts listed. I LOVE salt and this was WAY TOO SALTY, even for me. The next time, I'll use half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
As I've made snack mixes before, I've had a little trial and error to go on before I made this particular snack mix. Because I didn't want the margerine to "turn" on this mix, I used vegetable oil instead. I used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt (I don't have celery salt on hand) and garlic POWDER instead of garlic salt. This was good but a little TOO salty. Next time, I'll cut back on or cut out the seasoning salt all together. NOTE: If you bake this at 275*, you shouldn't have an issue with burning if you stir the mix in the pan every fifteen minutes. Setting a timer to go off every fifteen minutes helps. Sometimes, it won't need the whole time the recipe asks for, it might be done sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, and it came out all wrong. I wound up using the recipe on the Chex box, and it came out perfect. This recipe was too greasy and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe! My family loved this to only changes I made was to replace the celery salt with onion powder. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. and increased the worcestershire sauce to 4 Tblspns. Yum Yum. Doesn't even last a day in my house. Great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Instead of oat cereal, I added Spicey Cheese-Its, it was delicious. Made from similar recipe I had used before, and plan to make as gifts for Christmas for the nephews in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I don't know how I messed it up, but this came out tooooo buttery!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asobotka

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States