Toasted Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sweetandsalty
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I combined some of the other reviewer's notes and another recipe because I LOVE salty crunchy snacks. My favorite is the wheat Chex so I put in 4 cups, 3 cups corn Chex, 3 cups rice Chex, 1 cup of roasted cashews/almonds, and 1 cup of pretzels. 6 tbl of butter, 2 tbl water, .5 tsp garlic powder, .5 tsp onion powder, 3 tsp season salt, and 3 tbl W. sauce. I used the convection setting on my oven so baked it at 250 deg x 30 min, stirring once. I can't stop eating it even though it's still a bit too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is the best and easiest recipe to make. I use popcorn seasoning to give it an added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I have been making chex mix for years and this one i thought had the best flavor however as im reading these reviews im noticing that people are having problems with it burning and some of the cereal shriveling up that is because this recipe calls for margerine and when you use margerine it soaks in too much and can make it soggy or burn! Try using 1 stick of butter!You will get better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I used half the seasoning salt, half the celery salt and used garlic powder. Then added some pork rinds. OOOOHHHH YUMMY! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Coulldn't eat it. I am a hard-core salt lover, but this way waaaaaaay too salty. Too much butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
It uses to much butter & to salty. I ended up buy the name brand chex to get the original recipe which used about half the butter otherwise and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I used one stick of unsalted butter. Homemade no-salt seasoning mix, garlic powder & onion powder. Doubled worcestershire. Just had peanuts instead of mixed nuts. Added Cheez-its in place of the Wheat cereal. Used the biggest cookie sheet (with sides) I could find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
THE BEST PAN TO USE.....My family has been making this for years, at least our own version. Some people were asking about the pan...the best thing we have found is to use the big dark blue pan with the lid you make turkey in and divide it into 2 batches. My sister uses the bottom of hers and the lid of hers as the 2 pans! I usually use the bottom of my pan and buy a big aluminum roasting pan for the other.Our recipe is bigger though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARONAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love this stuff. I have to ration myself because otherwise I will eat the whole batch. I love salty stuff, so maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Way to much salt and way to much butter. I would suggest either decreasing the salt by using garlic powder and halfing the butter, or doubling the cereal. I would also add extra worcestershire - 2 tsp just didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States