Toasted Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Way too salty! We couldn't even eat it. I tried it again with the following changes: 1 cup butter (unsalted or salted) 1 teaspoon seasoning salt 1 teaspoon celery salt 2 teaspoons Pampered Chef "Garlic Garlic" seasoning 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce 5 cups Crispix (or corn chex) 2 cups Cheerios 1 cup Honey Kix 2 cups pretzel sticks 2 cups popped popcorn, plain 1 17 ounce can mixed nuts and followed the original recipe Directions and it is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made this recipe but only had butter, it was way too buttery and salty for my taste. Next time I will reduce the amount of salt, use margarine and probably pour the mixture OVER the chex so that some arent' so saturated while others are dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
great recipe! I did change a few things though! I used 2.5 cups of each cereal because of all the butter and used 6 tsp. worcestershire sauce. onion powder and garlic powder 2 tsp each. I added extra seasoning salt around 4 tsp... did not burn because I did it at 250 degrees instead of 275. I also used two cookie sheets because of using more cereal. I also used the whole can of nuts. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I changed the celery salt to celery seed-used less. all the salts were changed to powders, used CostCos's no salt seasoning. used real unsalted butter. didn't have any mixed nuts handy, but used 2 types of pretzels & some oyster crackers. Seems like it will be a good last-minute snack while visiting the neighbors today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Mmm, this kind of party mix always reminds me of christmas. I used 10 cups total of pretzels, cheerios, shreddies, and cheese nips (brother is allergic to nuts). I also increased the worcestershire sauce to 1/4 cup and only used half the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Too Salty,. I would not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I make a similar recipe but cook it in the microwave in just minutes. Put all cereal and spices and melted butter in a microwave safe bowl, stir well cook on high for 2 minutes, stir cook for 1 1/2 minutes stir and cook for 1 minute. Take out and cool. Just make sure the bowl in not a plastic type bowl as butter reacts to the plastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Traditional and just the way I like it. It seemed like a whole lot of butter, so I only used half of it. And it turned out just fine. Next time I think I'll hold back a little on the seasonings, too. It was a little too much, especially as we got to the bottom of the bowl where all the salt had settled. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We liked this recipe. First time was at Halloween and it was little salty for us. For Christmas I made it with butter since I was out of margarine. I was out of celery salt so left it out and used only 1 tsp garlic powder. Used the rest of ingredients exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States