Toasted Oats Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
These cookies have an excellent flavor and texture. Not too sweet, but with a rich nutty flavor and a really great balance between chewy and crispy. This recipe is great as is, but it would be excellent with raisins, nuts, coconut or chocolate chips. I cut this recipe in half, and like another reviewer, had trouble getting them to the right consistency. The trick is the egg: just the yolk makes these cookies far too thick, so add the yolk and a little of the white until the cookies hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
My fiancé and I made these together - they were quick, easy and quite delicious :) For the brown sugar I used 1/2 cup white sugar and a few globs of blackstrap molasses, mixing them together until a rich brown. We used whole wheat flour. He wanted to add chocolate which has its own sweetness anyway so he mixed chunks of dark Guittard as well as white Ghirardelli into the oat mixture, but it was still warm so all of the chocolate melted into the dough instead of staying as chunks, haha. It's okay they turned out delicious! Few things to note - we placed balls of dough on the cookie sheet and baked for 10 minutes, then took out, flattened with a spatula and cooked for 10 more minutes. Seemed that they'd fall apart if we tried to flatten while still raw, and the cookies didn't fall on their own, maybe because of all of the sticky stuff that we added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. Cookies are pretty good but they sure didn't spread while baking. I don't know why the instructions say to place them 3" apart. And it was hard to get them to hold together long enough to even form a cookie - very crumbly dough. For the second pan into the oven I pressed all the cookies with a floured glass so at least those presented better. IF I make these again, I'll add some kind of liquid or another egg or something so they will hold together and spread a bit. Mine look nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a very cool recipe I added more butter and some raisins which just enhanced the flavor and aesthetic of the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe was very easy and fast to do. I used granola instead of regular oats and they turned out great! In total, it took me 30 minutes no prepare them and 15 minutes to cool the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These turned out better than I thought they would. My husband and three children liked these cookies a lot. Thank you for this tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My favorite oatmeal cookie recipe as of now! I added 1/2 cup black walnut pieces and 1/2 cup raisins. Coconut would be yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I'm not usually a huge fan of oatmeal cookies, but toasting the oats made all the difference! I didn't have brown sugar on hand, so I substituted white, and added some chocolate chips. These were great just out of the oven, but got a bit hard the next day. It would probably help to flatten them slightly on the pan, although dipping them in hot chocolate is always an enjoyable alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
The best oatmeal cookies I have ever eaten .I did turn the oven down to 350 and I used 1 cup of butter and chilled the cookie dough, I used a one and a half inch cookie scoop .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I was out of butter and baking powder, so I substituted E.V. Olive Oil and tripled with baking soda. Cooked in gas oven 350 10min, I made these for my son who is under the weather, and he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acwmade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States