Toasted Coconut-Topped Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was delicious!! I only changed a couple of things: I added brown sugar instead of white sugar and made it in a round pan. I loved it and wish it was diet friendly ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was delicious! Instead of adding cinnamon I added lemon zest and a little lemon juice and I also reduced the sugar a little. My family loved this recipe and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I have come across! I personally added 3 cups of blueberries instead of 2 cups, and balance it out with 1/3 cup of EXTRA flour. It was wonderful and I won several baking contests with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I thought the toasted coconut topping was a very good, however just a little too much in quantity and a little too sweet; but overall a very nice coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I won first place at the State Fair with this recipe. It is always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I looks great, I will try it this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
YUM...DELICIOUS! I didn't have shortening, so I used softened butter. Also, I used brown sugar and regular coconut in the topping, and a round pan instead of a square. This smelled wonderful while baking and tasted even better...and so simple to make too! A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am giving this recipe five stars based on my revisions. I would probably give two stars to the original recipe. The reason being - the amount of topping is ridiculous – basically two full cups for a little 9” square coffee cake. I made the cake portion as written, subbing buttermilk for the milk, because I had some to use up. For the topping I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar (not white), 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 3 T. butter and the full 1/2 cup of coconut. I didn’t have toasted coconut but regular worked just fine. I also used a 9” springform pan which worked well. My result was delicious and I would make this again. Next time I may up the coconut a little more to 3/4 cup just to compare. Give this a try, but adjust the amount of topping and you will be very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 50-60 minutes. The Toasted coconut top was very delicious! I used eath balance margarine in place of the shortning and butter. i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States