Toasted Coconut-Topped Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was delicious! Instead of adding cinnamon I added lemon zest and a little lemon juice and I also reduced the sugar a little. My family loved this recipe and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I have come across! I personally added 3 cups of blueberries instead of 2 cups, and balance it out with 1/3 cup of EXTRA flour. It was wonderful and I won several baking contests with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I thought the toasted coconut topping was a very good, however just a little too much in quantity and a little too sweet; but overall a very nice coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I won first place at the State Fair with this recipe. It is always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I looks great, I will try it this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
YUM...DELICIOUS! I didn't have shortening, so I used softened butter. Also, I used brown sugar and regular coconut in the topping, and a round pan instead of a square. This smelled wonderful while baking and tasted even better...and so simple to make too! A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am giving this recipe five stars based on my revisions. I would probably give two stars to the original recipe. The reason being - the amount of topping is ridiculous – basically two full cups for a little 9” square coffee cake. I made the cake portion as written, subbing buttermilk for the milk, because I had some to use up. For the topping I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar (not white), 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 3 T. butter and the full 1/2 cup of coconut. I didn’t have toasted coconut but regular worked just fine. I also used a 9” springform pan which worked well. My result was delicious and I would make this again. Next time I may up the coconut a little more to 3/4 cup just to compare. Give this a try, but adjust the amount of topping and you will be very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 50-60 minutes. The Toasted coconut top was very delicious! I used eath balance margarine in place of the shortning and butter. i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Taste great but comes out a little dry. I even took it out ten minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States