Toasted Coconut-Topped Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was delicious!! I only changed a couple of things: I added brown sugar instead of white sugar and made it in a round pan. I loved it and wish it was diet friendly ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was delicious! Instead of adding cinnamon I added lemon zest and a little lemon juice and I also reduced the sugar a little. My family loved this recipe and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I have come across! I personally added 3 cups of blueberries instead of 2 cups, and balance it out with 1/3 cup of EXTRA flour. It was wonderful and I won several baking contests with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I thought the toasted coconut topping was a very good, however just a little too much in quantity and a little too sweet; but overall a very nice coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I won first place at the State Fair with this recipe. It is always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I looks great, I will try it this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
YUM...DELICIOUS! I didn't have shortening, so I used softened butter. Also, I used brown sugar and regular coconut in the topping, and a round pan instead of a square. This smelled wonderful while baking and tasted even better...and so simple to make too! A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am giving this recipe five stars based on my revisions. I would probably give two stars to the original recipe. The reason being - the amount of topping is ridiculous – basically two full cups for a little 9” square coffee cake. I made the cake portion as written, subbing buttermilk for the milk, because I had some to use up. For the topping I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar (not white), 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 3 T. butter and the full 1/2 cup of coconut. I didn’t have toasted coconut but regular worked just fine. I also used a 9” springform pan which worked well. My result was delicious and I would make this again. Next time I may up the coconut a little more to 3/4 cup just to compare. Give this a try, but adjust the amount of topping and you will be very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 50-60 minutes. The Toasted coconut top was very delicious! I used eath balance margarine in place of the shortning and butter. i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States