Toasted Caprese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A wonderful end-of-summer combination of ingredients and textures. The best tomatoes of the year and (in our version) freshly-made basil pesto. Toasted ciabatta really is the perfect choice for bread--nicely "bulky" but not heavy. The family felt balsamic vinegar was critical to the dish. This may have been especially true because rosemary didn't sound quite right and I omitted it. Otherwise, made precisely as directed. A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a good sandwich. I don't always toast mine, sometimes I eat them fresh without being toasted. I use a garlic ciabatta bread from Trader Joes that already has chunks of fresh garlic in it. I also used some great colorful heirloom tomatos or romas and organic basil. I leave out the butter. This is a great, easy, and fresh lunch or dinner idea. I liek to make one and take it with me in a plastic sandwich container when I am running errands too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I admit I didn’t bother to roast the garlic first. I simply minced the garlic, added it to the butter to spread on the bread. It was excellent. We thought this was an easy and tasty sandwich, and a great use of tomatoes and basil in your garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I thought this was absolutely delicious! Oh man what the roasted garlic does for this sandwich is amazing!! Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Yummy!! I didn't change anything at all. It was perfect. I love caprese salad but I wondered if the roasted garlic would be an issue. Well, it wasn't. The garlic MAKES this sandwich! I did add the balsamic as well. Will make again (and again, and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This sandwich was great. Would give it five stars, but the prep time was too long so I made small changes. I didn't roast the garlic only minced it and sprinkled over the buttered bread before toasting (10 minutes). I liked the rosemary, but I'm sure it would be just as good with or without it. For step 4 I put it under the broiler for about two minutes to melt the cheese and cook the tomatoes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Mmmm. Melted cheese .. good. Crispy, crunchy bread .. good. Juicy summer tomatoes .. good. Sweet, mellow roasted garlic .. good. The occasional mouthful of piney rosemary .. not so good. The next time I make this, I'm probably going to roast sprigs of fresh rosemary along with the garlic -- perhaps a more subtle approach is better suited for such a pungent herb in such a tasty sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was very good! The only thing that I didn't care for was the tomatoes and basil being cooked, so next time I would leave those off until after I take it out of the oven. I couldn't find ciabatta bread today, of course, lol, so I used a baguette. Also, I omitted the rosemary b/c I wasn't feelin' it, and just mixed the roasted garlic w/ the butter and went from there. I drizzled the finished sandwich w/ a little basalmic glaze, and that was great! The roasted garlic really made this stand out from the rest, and I will def be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fabulous! If you love caprese salad, then you'll love this sandwich. I didn't bother roasting the garlic - a little too involved for lunch... I just added some minced garlic to butter with a splash of olive oil and spread that over the bread. I broiled that until nice and golden brown. I sliced the tomatoes and sprinkled a little kosher salt and cracked black pepper over top then drizzled with the balsamic vinegar. I then assembled the sandwich and didn't bother putting it back into the oven. I cut it into sections and it was oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Really good! I will admit I just put minced garlic and live oil on the stove for the first part of the recipe and then followed the rest. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and extra bonus that it is vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boothc
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States