Toasted Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a very good cake. Do not overbake or I think it would be dry. The icing tastes like butter pecan ice cream, the heavy cream gives it that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This cake was absolutely delicious. I love Butter Pecan icecream, and this cake tasted very much like it. I used store-bought icing instead, just to make it a little more simple. (1 pk. Butter cream frosting, 2 pks. Cream cheese frosting) With the icing, by mistake, I used two different brands of Cream Cheese flavor, I used Betty Crocker and Duncan Hines, so you might like to try that. The cake is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Wonderful cake! I didn't have 3 layer cake pans, so I baked it in a 13x9 pan for 45 minutes. It turned out great. You may be tempted to skip the pecan toasting process, but don't! Toasting the pecans in butter is what gives this cake its unique, irresistible flavor. The cake received rave reviews from my family and my co-workers. I will definitely keep this cake on my "favorites" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I actually found this recipe on another site when I used it, but it's the exact same thing, and it is SO good. The cake is very dense and moist. When I made it I made a 12x2" square cake. It was a little difficult to level with the pecans baked into it but I managed! I frosted this with from scratch maple cream cheese frosting and it is to die for :-9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is by far the best cake I have ever had. I made it for the first time last Christmas and have made it on special occasions since. My dad also says this is the best cake he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Flavor was good. Cake was very very dry. Neither my family nor I like dry cake. I had to throw out more than 1/2 of it because no one wanted to eat it. I am not a novice cook either. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was alright. I think I may have overbaked it just a little because it did end up being pretty dry. The frosting was so so. Just a sidenote, in your ingredients list you have baking powder but in the procedure you said to mix baking soda; I wasn't sure so I used baking powder. This may have had something to do with it. Also, I have a cake recipe that calls for 4 tsp. of baking powder and this one only calls for 2. This may also have soemthing to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I really wanted to like this cake but we just weren't impressed. The cake turned out dry (did I overmix or overbake?) and the icing was too sweet for our taste. Worth a shot, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
this cake was very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States