Toasted Breadcrumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I keep thinking to myself, What a Blessing to be able to use what God has givin us and make something new! I already make my own bread and now I can take 1 more thing off the grocery list, Breadcrumbs!!THIS RECIPE IS GREAT & VERY EASY!! I baked mine until they felt crisp and then let them cool, about 5 min, then put them in the Blender and WA-LA we had Fresh Breadcrumbs!! I didn't have to worry about what exactly was in them or what that company did to "make them better" because I was even the one who made the bread. Praise God from Whom ALL Blessings Flow. God Bless the rest of your day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I put the toast in a big plastic freezer bag and rolled the rolling pin over it to crush the bread into crumbs. Easy and quick, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Turned out perfect! A little more labor intensive than I thought however. I baked mine for half and hour and they were a little soft in the middle. Next time I'll bake for 35-40 minutes to ensure that they are baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Works great everytime! Used the end slices (which nobody wants)and leftover rolls - whole wheat, sourdough, pumpernickle, and onion etc..! Baked for 20 minutes each side, cooled, put through food processor. Pour into zip bag and store in the freezer to keep fresh. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These turned out great! The best breadcrumbs I've ever made. After they were browned and cooled, I broke them into pieces and ran them through the food processor 3 slices at a time along with 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning. It was fragrant and fresh and WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I found a full loaf of bread that we had ignored and I didn't want to waste it. Once again, Allrecipes does not disappoint. Found this recipe and it is great. The only difference in technique is that I placed the bread on a cookie sheet rather than directly on the rack. The timing was perfect. Made a great meatloaft with oat nut breadcrumbs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
try this soak the bread sourdough in a lil fresh garlic and onion the dry it out and make crumbs..... killer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerry dodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great way to use up that slightly stale bread, end pieces or other "undesirables"! ;) Sometimes I do whoel wheat, sometimes a mix of whatever we have on hand. If I'm not usingthem right away, I store them in a big ziploc bag in the freezer. I prefer to leave them plain and season as I use them, but my favorite seasoning includes oregano, basil, thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow,just another way to get rid of your bread that's about to got bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is a great way to use up older bread. I put the toast in a baggie and used a rolling pin to crush into crumbs. I don't know why I never thought of this before. I guess for Italian crumbs you could just add some Italian seasoning or other herbs. Thanks I will be giving this a lot of use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Baking Powder vs Baking Soda

Learn all about two remarkable kitchen staples, baking powder and baking soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States