Toasted Breadcrumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These turned out great! The best breadcrumbs I've ever made. After they were browned and cooled, I broke them into pieces and ran them through the food processor 3 slices at a time along with 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning. It was fragrant and fresh and WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Turned out perfect! A little more labor intensive than I thought however. I baked mine for half and hour and they were a little soft in the middle. Next time I'll bake for 35-40 minutes to ensure that they are baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
try this soak the bread sourdough in a lil fresh garlic and onion the dry it out and make crumbs..... killer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerry dodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Works great everytime! Used the end slices (which nobody wants)and leftover rolls - whole wheat, sourdough, pumpernickle, and onion etc..! Baked for 20 minutes each side, cooled, put through food processor. Pour into zip bag and store in the freezer to keep fresh. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I used whole wheat bread and the breadcrumbs turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I found a full loaf of bread that we had ignored and I didn't want to waste it. Once again, Allrecipes does not disappoint. Found this recipe and it is great. The only difference in technique is that I placed the bread on a cookie sheet rather than directly on the rack. The timing was perfect. Made a great meatloaft with oat nut breadcrumbs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I put the toast in a big plastic freezer bag and rolled the rolling pin over it to crush the bread into crumbs. Easy and quick, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Easy and I love that I can spice them up as I like!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Santillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I keep thinking to myself, What a Blessing to be able to use what God has givin us and make something new! I already make my own bread and now I can take 1 more thing off the grocery list, Breadcrumbs!!THIS RECIPE IS GREAT & VERY EASY!! I baked mine until they felt crisp and then let them cool, about 5 min, then put them in the Blender and WA-LA we had Fresh Breadcrumbs!! I didn't have to worry about what exactly was in them or what that company did to "make them better" because I was even the one who made the bread. Praise God from Whom ALL Blessings Flow. God Bless the rest of your day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I never realized how easy it is to make breadcrumbs when you take the time to do it. How I regret all the bread I've thrown away over the years! I baked the slices on a cookie sheet instead of directly on the oven rack. I am going to add Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese to make Italian-style breadcrumbs; my favourite! I plan on storing it in the freezer because of the cheese and to ensure it stays fresh. Thank you for opening my eyes to something so simple... And the money I will be saving by not dishing out for a container of store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bluetons (Blue Cheese Croutons)

See how to make croutons with blue cheese.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States