Toasted Breadcrumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Thanks so much for this base recipe! I sprayed mine with some olive oil spray, added garlic salt, and ground up italian seasoning herbs and sprinkled it on top of both sides. Baked at 250 for about 40-45 mins (used homemade bread - Grandma VanDoren's recipe on here). Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe. I used drying hamburger buns. Wheat and white. After toasting I added salt, pepper, dried parsley, dried basil and grated Parmesian cheese. Used food processor to make mixture fine. Added crumbled bacon and put on top of au gratin potatoe recipe. Yums!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Worked perfectly. Very simple. I did place mine on a baking sheet and because of that it did take longer, but the method is foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I did something like this years ago, but forgot how. Thanks, now I have this filed in my AR recipe box and I won't forget again. I also like to be able to use whole grain bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I put my bread slices under the broiler of my oven and the browning time is quick. I just watch it closely and turn the slices over when the top is the shade of brown that I want. You can put the slices in a plastic bag and use a rolling pin or crush with your hands, use the blender or food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This works, Folks!! Also, do you like croutons on your salad or soup? Do you like bread pudding? The moral here is: NEVER THROW OUT STALE BREAD!!! If you don't want to se it right away, it keeps wrapped in paper towels inside a plastic bag really well until you are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
So easy and fresh! Used whole wheat bread and a lone whole wheat english muffin that was just about ready to be thrown out. Toasted and dried up nice in the oven....think it was a lil longer than 1/2 hr....but no worries. I pulsed the toasted breads in the food processor. Addded a lil sea salt, pepper, and dried parsley and used these crumbs to dredge and coat my eggplant slices. Great breadcrumb coating. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Great and easy...just had to go 45 minutes, not the 30 minutes listed. To *crumb* I put bread in a gallon bag and used the blunt end of a meat tenderizer mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelhlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is a great way to use up older bread. I put the toast in a baggie and used a rolling pin to crush into crumbs. I don't know why I never thought of this before. I guess for Italian crumbs you could just add some Italian seasoning or other herbs. Thanks I will be giving this a lot of use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States