Toad In a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I hadn't made this in years..grilled a little onion..grilled some home baked challah..tore the holes..my husband ate and enjoyed..love in a skillet. thank you from a woman on a south Texas ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Thankyou for calling this Toad in the Hole, I grew up with my mum and nana calling it that, I would guess it's probably local to certain places in England, they were from just outside of Birmingham, and they had never heard of Toad in the Hole being anything but this recipe! Contrary to what some of the snooty commenters said, this IS a toad in the hole, but it goes by other names as well! Even wiki backs it up: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egg_in_the_basket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Tapson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is called "eggy in the basket". Toad in the Hole is sausage in Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Berglund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I liked it, but my 10 y.o. didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an ok recipe, however, somewhere along the line its name has had an identity crisis. "Toad in the Hole" is an English dish referring to yorkshire pudding made with sausage in it. The English name for this dish is properly "Eggie in a Basket". I am unfamiliar with what the traditional American nicknames might be, but this recipe should be relabeled with an more accurate title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Not toad in a hole... I believe you meant to say "Egg in a hole" also called Egg in a basket or Spit in the eye. That being said... I do this all the time best with Rye bread, although I've never tried it with cheese, I'll have to try that next..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Kid tested, mother approved. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe. I first had toad in a hole at the Applewood restaurant in Pigeon Forge about 25 years ago. I'd like to correct the respondent who said that toad-in-a-hole is made with Yorkshire pudding. She is confusing toad-in-A-hole with toad-in-THE-hole. Two different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith F Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Super easy & tasty. I flipped over to help cook but then added cheese after the flip. Kids give 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was so good! I buttered both sides of the bread & flipped it so that both sides of bread were grilled & egg was cooked over easy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States