To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
HELPFUL TIPS: Vanilla isn't needed for this recipe (as some have suggested). Makes no difference ,and i put a heaping overflowing tsp. Neither my husband or friends can tell a difference, & I've made this 50+ times. Other than that, this recipe makes my husband a hero at his office! They say BETTER than any bakery! I use BROWN SUGAR instead of white for the topping. When I have buttermilk, i use that in place of milk. It's important to use butter at room temp (to a point that if you put a fork through it, it would smush). This makes it a lot easier to put on top. You can substitute blueberries with any fruit & it turns out great! Be sure to use PAM on the pan or they may stick. Also, frozen blueberries do not turn out the same. Fresh Fresh! Regular size tins make 12 at 18 min. Giant tins as recommended make 5-6 so double recipe! (Update 7/08): I noticed a lot of people had trouble w/their muffins sinking. You're over mixing or it's from adding TOO MUCH topping to 1 muffin using the given one. If you must drown yourself in topping, try this fail proof one I use that has less butter (perfect amount if doubling recipe): 2/3C brown sugar, 1/4C flour, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 2T butter. Use fork to mix and has nice coarse texture. Just as crunchy & delicious w/the perfect muffin EXCEPT it doesn't cause the muffins to sink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
I took a look at many of the recipe reviews for these muffins and incorporated their suggestions. In summary, I made the recipe as printed, but I added 1/2 t. vanilla, replaced all of the milk with buttermilk and then added a few more tablespoons of buttermilk to the recipe, replaced the white sugar in the streusel topping with brown sugar, filled 12 regular-size muffin tins about 2/3 full and lightly placed the streusel on top. I then baked them in a 400F oven for 18 minutes. They were excellent! This recipe would be great with other types of fruit added (other berries, diced peaches, etc.) or with chocolate or white chocolate chips, etc. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2628 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Wow!! My search for perfect blueberry muffins ends here. They came out like you would expect from a gourmet bakery. I've tried many blueberry muffin recipes only to be disappointed by the berries sinking to the bottom before it cooked all the way. This batter is like glue and really holds the blueberries in place. I made a couple of small modifications only because I was working with what I had on hand. I ground cinnamon sticks to make fresh cinnamon. I used strawberry milk instead of regular. I doubled the blueberries,and turned down the heat to 325 because the blueberries were frozen. The only things I'd suggest doing is to double the recipe (only made 6 jumbo muffins), but make only a single recipe of streusel (I was heaping on streusel topping until it was falling off, and there was still alot of streusel left over). Over all, Colleen, your muffins deserve to be at a luxury hotel or B&B. Thanks for sharing this with all of us to enjoy. This is definitely a keeper. :-) I am adding to my review because I've been reading the other reviews, and keep seeing the same 2 complaints about this recipe. "They were a mess getting them out of the pan." (If you use a non-stick spray and spray the entire pan including the top, they should fall out easily) "Not sweet enough" (The quality of the recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients--were your blueberries already bitter?)I think this is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2023 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
These are delicious. The batter is extremely thick and a pleasure to work with. I made these and "The best of the best blueberry muffins" on the same day and almost identical in flavour. However, the "to die for blueberry muffins" recipe had a thicker batter resulting in rounded muffin tops. Due to the thinness of the other recipe, as it was rising the batter spread out more so the muffin tops were flatter. Vanilla is a nice addition to either recipe. For beginner muffin makers it is crucial to know not to mix the batter too long or else you will end up with tough, poorly risen muffins. Combine wet and dry with the fewest strokes possible, there should still be some lumps and perhaps even light streaks of flour. Also, for a really professional looking muffin sprinkle some coarse sugar crystals on top of your muffins rather than the crumb mixture (I actually like doing a batch of each). This will give your muffin a sparkling finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
954 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Very delicate,moist and delicious. I,too, added a tsp of vanilla to batter and increased the sugar a bit. I added cranberries with the blueberries. You could use any fruit. I made another batch with dried apricots and walnuts..turned out great!Highly recommend this recipe. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I HAD to compliment the chef on this recipe! I have gone through AT LEAST a dozen muffin recipes just to throw them away, when the results were only so so. I wanted a muffin that was like something you could get in a coffee shop, and HERE IT IS! THESE turn out great, I doubled the batch, and used 1/2 brn. sugar. I didn't have to double the crumb topping. My batter didn't turn blue w/blueberries, and I have decided this is ALWAYS going to be my 'base' for muffins. Today we made strawberry, and they were just as good. thank you thank you, a KEEPER, FINALLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPCHEFCLAUDINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matamoras, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
YUMMY!! I doubled the topping and replaced the milk with buttermilk. This is a wonderful alteration..I promise. Also added a splash of vanilla extract. Try adding a handful of Hershey's Cinnamon Chips to the crumb topping instead of the ground cinnamon...it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Wow, these were fantastic!! Three cheers for Colleen! I used an oversized muffin tin and it made five beautiful muffins. I used a mini food processor for the crumb mixture, and it was very fast. I agree with cutting the crumb mixture in half. I made another batch and replaced the blueberries with 1 cup of mini chocolate chips (for the kids) and used the other half of the crumb mixture. What a treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
The name of these muffins are fitting. These are impressive looking. Looks and tastes like they are professionally made. I also increased the amount of blueberried. Since I used frozen, I added just enough for each batch that I was putting into the oven so the color didn't run into the white batter. Excellent muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is the prefect staple muffin recipe. You can alter it, depending on what you've got on hand. Here's a few I've done recently: Apple spice: Omit: blueberries, Add: 1/2-1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg to dry ingredients. Fold in 1 cup (about 2) peeled and shredded apples. Cranberry: Omit: blueberries, Add: Fold in: 1 cup chopped cranberries, 2/3 cup chopped walnuts, and 1-2 Tbs. orange zest. Cherry: Omit blueberries, Add: 3/4 cup dried cherries, soaked in boiling water for 5 minutes and drained, and 1/4 tsp. almond extract. Ruhbarb: Omit: blueberries, add 1 cup chopped ruhbarb, 1/2 c. chopped pecans. Add chopped toasted pecans to the topping, if you'd like. Another hint try this with cylon cinnamon (regular is cassia)... very tasty. Anyway, I've thrown away most other muffin recipes... If you want any kind of fruit muffin, this IS the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 7,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States