To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Mostly satisfied with the result, but disappointed with the writing of the instructions. As an experienced baker, I knew the instructions were way too vague for someone's first time baking muffins or making streusel topping. I suggest re-writing the instructions to be more descriptive. The muffins turned out okay, a little bland other than the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Gail Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Delicious! I didn't have milk so used fresh squeezed orange juice and sour cream and it tasted amazing! I also used brown sugar for the crumb. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VhiaD
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Everyone loves these muffins! I made tiny tweaks to the recipe based on others' suggestions. I use 1/3 cup buttermilk instead of milk, and substitute whole wheat flour and half white/half brown sugar for the filling. I also like to use 1 cup blueberries and 1/2 cup fresh raspberries for a nice mix of flavor (fresh or frozen & thawed). I also added 2 tsp grated lemon rind and 1 tsp vanilla extract. For the topping, I use 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3 tbs all purpose flour, 2 tbs butter and 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon. Mixing: I mix the dry ingredients together first, and then fold in the fruit to coat with flour to prevent them bleeding out and sinking. I then add the wet ingredients with the lemon zest and vanilla and only lightly fold to prevent over mixing. Baking: I used a regular 12 muffin tin on a baking tray. Only fill the muffin tins to 3/4 full with batter! ...even if there is extra batter! Just eat that separately ;)...and then add the crumble topping to fill the muffin tins. They will rise a lot so don't overfill them. In my oven, I bake for 18 minutes at 400 F on the middle shelf. Let the muffins cool for 5-10 minutes before removing from muffin tins. The cooking time should increase to 20-25 minutes if making larger but fewer muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VhiaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I like the blueberry muffins, but the topping came out horrible. There were some spots where the butter melted and others that were just the flour mixture. I will continue to use the muffin recipe and do a little more looking for the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Followed this recipe exactly. I used a regular size muffin pan and got 16 muffins. My family loved them. I did find the crumble made to much and I didn't used it all but otherwise delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnus' Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Just made this exactly as the recipe directed except baked them for 18 minutes. Definitely going to use the recipe for other fruit muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Tried with and without topping. Just as sweet without. I prefer them without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Amazing! These are now my go-to muffins. I use this recipe for any fruit muffins (tried strawberries and raspberries) and it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I thought these muffins were way too sweet! You do not need a streusel topping on a muffin that has sweet blueberries in it. It was almost inedible because of the sweetness! Also, never fill a muffin cup more than 3/4 full or it will spill over the edges and cause a huge mess and your muffins will be ruined. I thankfully knew better. Also, I used 12 regular sized muffin cups with paper baking cups and baked 18 min. The muffins were very moist. I used a different streusel recipe and it didn't cause them to sink. It was listed in one of the 5 star reviews as most helpful but this recipe doesn't need any. If I were to make these again I would omit the topping or omit the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
These muffins are absolutely phenomenal!! My sister makes these all the time and they are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 7,717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States