To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
So tasty! I made some changes as I did not have eggs....used 1/3 cup of mayo for the egg and oil and salt, and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract in case the mayo came through. I will now keep this change as a MUST DO. baked for the full 25min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitchenwitch
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I had to add more milk and applesauce as the batter was really thick and tough. But they were tasty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
As written - very important caveat - these are NOT five star muffins. It seems the majority of the favorable reviews include significant deviances from the actual recipe. I bake muffins at least once a week if not more. I am an experienced baker in other areas as well. These muffins were a mess! I'm not exactly sure what the real issue. I followed the recipe to a T and my oven cooks to temp. Yet, at the end of cooking time, my muffins were still very gooey in the center. I had to cook them at least 10 minutes longer and finally had to take them out for fear the streusel would burn. I believe there are two issues. I made 8 muffins and filled the cups to the top, as instructed. I also used all of the streusel topping - as directed. I believe the batter is too dense to fill the cups so full. And then to put all that heavy topping on, makes it difficult for the muffins to rise and cook properly. We were able to salvage a few of the muffins and both of my young kids declared them too sweet. That was a shocker to hear them say, as these kids are no strangers to sugar. I wholeheartedly agreed with them though! If I were to make this recipe again (highly doubtful) I would slightly cut back on the sugar in the recipe, divide the batter into 12 muffins and not use all the topping, despite the additional muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't count the number of blueberry muffin recipes I have tried, but, this one is by far the best. I made the muffins using the recipe without additions or changes. In my opinion, it doesn't need any tweaking. I don't recommend using a small chopper for the topping unless you are a good judge of when enough blending is enough. Mine came out in clumps so next time I will use the cover of a microwave bowl and a pastry/dough blender. My oven was a little too hot at 400 so I turned it down the last five minutes. My muffins were done in 18 minutes. I made 10 using a regular muffin tin. I was skeptical about the cinnamon flavor with these muffins but, it was a fabulous addition. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made the recipe (mostly) as written, except I made regular-sized muffins and accidentally added a lot less butter to the topping. Like half as much. It was completely by accident, and although I could tell the difference, it wasn't disastrous. Otherwise, the muffins were absolutely delicious. No need to change anything in the base muffin recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was ok but I've had better. The topping seemed to have too much butter and didn't have much flavor. I mostly just tasted sugar from the topping. Also the muffin itself tasted a little salty. I don't think I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These are very good. Nice and moist. I used frozen blueberries and it turned out fine. I also switched out brown sugar for the sugar in the topping. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have tried this 3 times and each time the batter is so dry. I finally added more milk, oil and berries (plus some vanilla) the last 2 times I made this and hubby and toddler loved them. I will have to search for a better recipe (or keep altering this one). Even so, they do sag a little in middle when done as others have also discovered...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Excellent recipe. I did change a few thins based upon other reviews i used buttermilk instead of milk and I used brown sugar instead of white for the crumb topping. I dont think the vanilla would make a big difference but other than that they turned out perfect. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeeLee5684
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Loved these muffins! definitely going to be my go to muffins:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 7,517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States