To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by even_vegan
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Light, yummy muffin. Only changes I made were replacing half the oil with apple sauce, blackberries instead of blueberries, halved the crumb topping and used turbinado sugar in it, and added toasted walnuts to the topping. I dont know if the recipe assumes you're using a "Texas" or oversized muffin pan, but I used a regular sized 12-muffin tin and a single recipe yielded 7 muffins. They were a bit hard to get out of the tin (I sprayed with Pam, no liner) especially since the top bakes over and it's hard to get a knife around the edge of muffin without ruining the pretty top. Though I think I was too eager and removed them while they were still too hot- a few muffins lost blackberries that fell right out of the bottom of them. Once cooled they are alot more stable, so if you're using a bigger berry or even big blueberries , let them cool! Ill make this again, probably add a little lemon juice or zest :) perfect breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by even_vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Made these for the first time this morning, and they turned out great! I doubled the recipe for the muffins, but used the single recipe for the topping (and still had some left over). I filled the tins to the top, and it made 14 large muffins. I also added about 1/2 cup of fresh raspberries (and used a pint of fresh blueberries, since I doubled the recipe). I did cube the butter and mix in with the topping, but some of the topping was dry (butter didn't melt into it in some spots), so I need to figure something out for that. I'm thinking about just placing little pats of butter on top of the muffins after adding the dry topping (and not cubing it like the recipe says). I'm open to suggestions on this, because I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I added more blueberries....used about 1 1/2 cups per patch (I doubled the recipe and used 3 cups total for both batches). After I sprinkled on the topping, I also added a few shakes of the large crystal sugar to make them look extra fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I just made these and they are delicious! I doubled the recipe and added additional blueberries. I also used brown sugar for the topping. Doubling the recipe made 24 regular sized muffins. A few of the muffins did sink a bit in the middle but that didn't make them less yummy! I did not need to bake them as long as I did bake them on convection and made smaller muffins. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Added some more blueberries and substituted the 1/3 vegetable oil for 1/3 Greek yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe is excellent. I used almond milk (unsweetened) in place of regular milk. I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla as one of the other people mentioned. These muffins are better than any bakery muffin I have ever tasted, moist, flavorful and absolutely yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These were delicious, but when I took them out of oven, crumb topping was melted and didn't have crumble texture showed in pictures. I followed recipe exactly. So why did the top just melt into muffins? They tasted great but just didn't look so perfect. I am not a novice cook, have been baking for years. Has anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Too much topping, and blueberry taste is not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Freakin incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I just made these muffins, made two substitutions, white whole wheat flour and brown sugar for the topping. My boys had two each and are raving about them. Simple, easy and so good, what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 7,116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States