To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I just made this recipe and WOW! I'm sitting at my kitchen table watching my family devour them! My husband, who is a critic when it comes to baked goods, says this is absolutely by far THE best blueberry muffin that he has ever had! I visit allrecipes all the time and I use a bunch of the recipes but this time I actually had to create an account to write a review and give it a 5 star rating. I followed the recipe exactly. I live in Phoenix Arizona and the air is extremely dry here to say the least. So my batter was bit dry. More like really sticky wet dough. So I added a little more milk to make it the correct consistency. A little bit at a time. Until it looked like slightly thick cake batter. It made 6 giant muffins and 6 mini muffins. I didn't use paper cups. I should have for the minis.I filled them really close to the top but not quite to the top. I baked them for 18 minutes at 400 degrees. The mini muffin pan that I own makes 12 muffins. I scooped batter into the center 6 cups and filled the remaining empty cups on either side of the filled cups with water. It keeps the muffins from burning and I was able to bake them at the same time with my giant muffins for the same bake time. They all turned out perfectly! This batter is great because it holds the berries in place and they don't sink to the bottom. The muffins had a very light and airy texture. Almost like a soft cake. Very delicious! My only complaint....I should have made two batches! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I just made these muffins and, they were excellent. They taste as good as any bakery muffin, and they are so easy to make. I added vanilla, but I doubt it was necessary. I also filled the muffin pans 2/3 full, and they were plenty big. I wasn't sure what "cubed" butter was, so I just cut the butter up in small pieces and used a fork to break it into even smaller pieces. The recipe makes a lot of topping. I recommend letting the muffins cool completely before removing them from the pan. That way they come out intact. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I enjoyed these only next time I'll use half as much topping. I should mention that I made normal size muffins (12 to a pan) instead of 8, so the topping may have simply been too much for the smaller size. I also had the same problem others have mentioned with the butter dripping down under the cups. Regardless, I liked them. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Always a crowd pleaser! I usually put these in a smaller muffin tin and it makes about 12! They're great. I also rarely use muffin cups and just lightly butter the pan and they come out perfectly. Also although it's delicious, I rarely make the crumble on top! They're amazing with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I'm looking for a moist blueberry muffin with a great topping. This recipe has a great topping but I found the muffin a little to dry. It would have helped if I had used frozen blue berries. Sorry, but I'm still looking for that perfect recipe. This was my first attempt at making blueberry muffins from scratch. I was disappointed, but my family still ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent! Made them, but a double batch. Used a tsp. of vanilla and Splenda for sugar. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I added applesauce instead of sugar. It tasted great and it's much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Very good muffins. My only problem was that they were very difficult to get out of the pan since they are so full. I even made 9 instead of 8. I think next time I will make 10 since there is definitely enough batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by even_vegan
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Light, yummy muffin. Only changes I made were replacing half the oil with apple sauce, blackberries instead of blueberries, halved the crumb topping and used turbinado sugar in it, and added toasted walnuts to the topping. I dont know if the recipe assumes you're using a "Texas" or oversized muffin pan, but I used a regular sized 12-muffin tin and a single recipe yielded 7 muffins. They were a bit hard to get out of the tin (I sprayed with Pam, no liner) especially since the top bakes over and it's hard to get a knife around the edge of muffin without ruining the pretty top. Though I think I was too eager and removed them while they were still too hot- a few muffins lost blackberries that fell right out of the bottom of them. Once cooled they are alot more stable, so if you're using a bigger berry or even big blueberries , let them cool! Ill make this again, probably add a little lemon juice or zest :) perfect breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by even_vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Made these for the first time this morning, and they turned out great! I doubled the recipe for the muffins, but used the single recipe for the topping (and still had some left over). I filled the tins to the top, and it made 14 large muffins. I also added about 1/2 cup of fresh raspberries (and used a pint of fresh blueberries, since I doubled the recipe). I did cube the butter and mix in with the topping, but some of the topping was dry (butter didn't melt into it in some spots), so I need to figure something out for that. I'm thinking about just placing little pats of butter on top of the muffins after adding the dry topping (and not cubing it like the recipe says). I'm open to suggestions on this, because I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 7,202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States