Titaina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
made as directed apart from the sugar and nutmeg, neither of which I had to hand - served with crusty white bread - great- then added just a little cayenne for personal taste - shame the wife doesn't like bell peppers, guess it's all mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
For years I've tried to replicate the filling of another spanish dish: Empanada Gallega. Well, not anymore, this is it!. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Oh, by the way, we had this with bread and warm green beans mixed with minced fresh garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I LOVED THIS! All of the ingredients are pretty much staples in my kitchen, so I decided to give it a try. I doubled the recipe so I could use my entire 12 oz. can of tuna, used green pepper only (didn't have any red), and omitted the pine nuts (didn't have any). This has a very unique taste and you can't really tell what spices are in it... it just really brings out the flavors of everything. I'm sure it would be fantastic with the pine nuts, too! I just ate it with some crackers (next time I'll plan ahead and get GOOD crackers!), and the next day I had it in a mini wheat wrap for lunch. I will definitely be making this often! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is fantastic!! These are all items I keep on hand, so when friends dropped in recently I prepared it for them, along with the baguette of fresh bread I had happened to buy that day. The first time I made it I thought it a bit tame, so I doubled the spices. We love it, and even make a lunch of it on slices of fresh baguette from the local padaria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I spread this on slices of a round French loaf, put some salad on the side, and we ate it all up! My husband was amazed at how good it was, and he said he never would have guessed it was made with tuna, especially canned tuna. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very intersting spice blend makes this a amazing tapas. What a nice spin on canned tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was looking for something unique and totally devourable for a party last weekend...This recipe was a hit. I've never prepared a dish that disappeared so quickly. (And I doubled the recipe!) I took the advice of another reviewer and served these on slices of my favorite baguette, drizzled lightly with olive oil, topped with the Titaina and then toasted briefly under the broiler. The only adjustment I made to the topping was to add a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar, which I think really brought out the complex flavors of such a simple dish. I used a large can of albacore tuna and fire roasted tomatoes from my local organic grocer. Still, no one could believe that anything came from a can...not to mention that I put cinnamon on tuna :)Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Was skeptical about making this at first, but boy am I glad I did! Visually, it wasn't appealing to me and the thought of cinnamon and nutmeg in tuna sort of made me gag :) Am so glad I took the chance. Tweaked recipe a bit by using a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Added really nice but not overpowering kick. Chopped up a roma tomato since the Rotel can was only 10 oz. Also squeezed in a wee bit of fresh lemon juice and some balsamic vinegar which another reviewer recommended. Also followed her recommendation to serve on oven toasted baguette slices with olive oil. Also had sea salt crackers, but the crunchy bread was the best My husband absolutely loved it. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Easy and delicious! I've made it 3 times in as many months. I used one Starkist smoked tuna pouch, and it came out very nice. The smokey flavors go well with the cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
so yummy! I was unsure of this dish at first, but I loved it! I am GF, so I had it on a brown rice tortilla. My husband had it over rice. It was delicious both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

Chef John's Tonnato Sauce

Creamy sauce or dip made from tuna and anchovy fillets.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States