Titaina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. It was a big hit with my supper club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
this recipe is so easy to make. i can't cook very well and i had to make this for a project and it's so good. i'll make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I spread this on slices of a round French loaf, put some salad on the side, and we ate it all up! My husband was amazed at how good it was, and he said he never would have guessed it was made with tuna, especially canned tuna. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very intersting spice blend makes this a amazing tapas. What a nice spin on canned tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was looking for something unique and totally devourable for a party last weekend...This recipe was a hit. I've never prepared a dish that disappeared so quickly. (And I doubled the recipe!) I took the advice of another reviewer and served these on slices of my favorite baguette, drizzled lightly with olive oil, topped with the Titaina and then toasted briefly under the broiler. The only adjustment I made to the topping was to add a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar, which I think really brought out the complex flavors of such a simple dish. I used a large can of albacore tuna and fire roasted tomatoes from my local organic grocer. Still, no one could believe that anything came from a can...not to mention that I put cinnamon on tuna :)Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Made this for New Years Eve party. It was really good! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
this is very good with a few tweaks. Kept all proportions the same, but used jarred roasted red peppers, 1 jalapeno for a bit of zip, fresh chopped cilantro,and garnished w/some oil-cured black olives. I couldn't see the sense in cooking this for as long as stated, unless it is supposed to be the consistency of a chili sauce, maybe? Never having this before and no posted pic, I didn't know if that was what the consistency was supposed to be, but preferred it less 'mushy'. Added the drained tomatoes after sauteeing the veggies, and added the spices; threw in the tuna and cilantro at the very end. When I tasted this, the cinnamon was very apparent and did not meld well with the tuna. It needed some citrus for the sake of the tuna. I didn't have any fresh lemons to garnish with, so added 3 packages of True Lemon(dried real lemon that no kitchen should be without) This drastically improved the flavor! the tuna stood out, and it subdued the cinnamon, and added no sour taste, only the taste of lemon zest. I would only prefer this hot if it was going to be served over pasta(which would be a great Lenten dish) but instead, liked it at room temp to serve w/fresh baked savory bread. thanks for the recipe that can be tweaked to taste. Super quick and easy and can use your imagination for a variety of ways to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Mediocre, no one ate it at my Oscar party. Not terrible, but not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Was skeptical about making this at first, but boy am I glad I did! Visually, it wasn't appealing to me and the thought of cinnamon and nutmeg in tuna sort of made me gag :) Am so glad I took the chance. Tweaked recipe a bit by using a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Added really nice but not overpowering kick. Chopped up a roma tomato since the Rotel can was only 10 oz. Also squeezed in a wee bit of fresh lemon juice and some balsamic vinegar which another reviewer recommended. Also followed her recommendation to serve on oven toasted baguette slices with olive oil. Also had sea salt crackers, but the crunchy bread was the best My husband absolutely loved it. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Easy and delicious! I've made it 3 times in as many months. I used one Starkist smoked tuna pouch, and it came out very nice. The smokey flavors go well with the cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States