Tiropitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I replace the cottage cheese with a mixture of ricotta and cream cheese. This is amazing and worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My 15 year old made this for the family and it was SO delicious and easy to make! Made this recipe a second time only this time took three (may try 2 next time) Phyllo sheets, individually brush them with butter, lay them on top of each other, cut them in half lengthwise, dabbed spoonful of mixture on one end and folded it up like a triangular (paper) football. Wet the end piece tab so it will stick lay the triangle with tab down. Continued until all Phyllo and mixture are used. Bake. EXCELLENT single servings and BEAUTIFUL too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for a potluck at work and they were gone in 30 minutes! Instead of making it in the 9X13 dish I folded them into triangles so that everyone would have a chance to try some. These freeze really well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I used garlic and herb feta cheese and it added some great flavor. I also used olive oil instead of butter. I will be making this again but next time I will use less egg and more feta cheese. Overall a great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe!! As suggested I did add oregano, thyme, mint and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I added thyme, oregano, and nutmeg (didn't have any mint) as one reviewer suggested. I also used low-fat cottage cheese and cooking spray, as another reviewer mentioned. It turned out delicious, and even my fiance who says he hates both cottage cheese and feta loved it! I will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was just ok. It tasted fine, maybe could have used a bit of spice in the cheese/egg mixture. I probably won't make it again, mostly because my husband and I were both still hungry after having second and third helpings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
i love just about anything with cheese in it but i didnt care for this. maybe yo uhave to be a BIG fan of feta, i didnt even put all of the feta in it thank go. o well sad to say but i wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I grew up and lived in Cyprus and Greece for almost 10 years. The one thing that I missed the most is of course, tyropita. So, I searched high and low for a great recipe that would taste authentic and this is it! However, I made some few additions : - I skipped out on the mint and opted for a mix of herbs instead. A friend got me a bag of salad herbs straight from Crete ( mix of dried mint, thyme and oregano ). I added this to the cheese mixture and it was amazing. - I also added the nutmeg which gave it that authentic Greek cuisine flavour. Other than that, the recipe is perfect and now it's become one of my favourite things to make in the kitchen! I made a whole batch and stored them in the freezer...they were gone within 2 days between my boyfriend and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made these as appetizers. Instead of butter, I sprayed between layers of philo with butter spray. I cut them into squares and pushed them into a mini muffin pan. I scooped the filling into each "cup" and baked them. They were a hit. Except for presentation, I didn't change a thing. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States