Tiramisu Toffee Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was great! Super easy. Used 2 regular sized Heath candy bars and should have had 3 or 4. The creamy part of the dessert made much more than I needed. Could have probably used a couple pound cakes and still had enough of the creamy filling. Served this to my girlfriends at a music in the park event and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralphy's_mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Was not what I thought it would be. Will not try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This stuff was great. I made it for Mothers Day and everybody loved it. They all wanted the recipe. I had forgotten to put coffee on the second layer and nobody could tell. I did use alot more toffee sprinkled on top and the middle. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennJenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was very easy to make and a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I like this dessert a lot, but do make a couple of very minor changes. (1) I use the larger (16 oz) frozen pound cake and cut into 12 slices, which fits perfectly in a 9" x 13" dish. (2) I use only 1 cup of heavy cream, which makes a heavier textured filling (using the 2 cups is why so many reviewers had to whip it up separately & then add to the cream cheese mixture). The two cup amount of cream just drowns the cake in "filling"; the one-cup amount gives it a nice custard-like layer. (3) I get a couple of Heath bars and chop them up for the topping. I found that when we use the toffee chips (like "Skor"), they do not stay crunchy for very long. It may not be a true traditional tiramisu, but it is VERY tasty, very easy, and very different from the usual desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
As a great dessert, this is very good. It does have way too much sugar in it, however. Also, it's not tiramisu. Tiramisu uses lady fingers and marscopone, not pound cake and cream cheese. Also other items are different in real tiramisu, but as a good cake dessert, it is good and easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was so easy to make and actually tasted very much like a traditional tiramisu. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Served this at a dinner party and got great reviews. I too, whipped the cream separately and folded it into chocolate mixture. Used Kaluha rather than chocolate. I could not find chocolate toffee bits, so I bought toffee bits and melted chocolate chips over the top, like a toffee chocolate bark. Then once cooled, just broke them up and used to sprinkle on top. Suggest cutting back a bit on the sugar. Delicious and makes enough for an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is tasty and very easy. I made this according to the Taste of Home recipe, which calls for only 1 cup of heavy cream, whipped and then folded into the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was fantastic! I could not find a frozen pound cake, so I found a pound cake mix and made that instead. It was perfect! As mentioned in other posts, I whipped the cream separately then folded in the cream cheese mix. I also used Kahlua rather than coffee. I layered it all in a trifle bowl. It was such a delicious and easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States