Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe without using any liquor. I used coffee extract mixed with cocoa powder instead. I used less than what was called for with the liquor as it is stronger. Alcohol is not an option in our house, the tiny bit in the extract is OK. I used four layers 2 coffee and 2 white. I froze the cakes then assembled them. I used the vanilla instant pudding in the whipped cream (as one review suggested) and it set very well. You can also use a teaspoon of unflavored gelatin in 2 tbsp hot water and cool it down and add to the whipped cream. This will make the whipped cream more firm and keep longer in the fridge. Also make sure your bowl and beaters are very cold when whipping the cream. I put mine in the freezer before whipping heavy cream, work every time. It was a big hit! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. Only Change was doubling up on the coffee in cake and in liquid. I tripled the kahlua and made 2 pans instead of three. One plain and cut in half for two layers. I had 3 slices and I hardly eat sweets but this is near the real thing of tarimisu Whipped topping came out perfect just stick to the ingredient quantities don't change them or add additional liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was the dessert course to an Italian meal our daughter and her friend made for us on Christmas Eve. It was a nice and fairly light way to finish the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing...Amazing...Amazing! I have made this on several occasions, exactly as written, and it turns out INCREDIBLE every time. It is a bit more effort than other cakes but so worth it! You won't have a single regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I don't usually like cake mix recipes ... but this had such good reviews I made for christmas. It was a huge hit and I would make again in a heart beat. I may try it next time with 2 cake mixes. Now that the boxes are 15 oz instead of 18, i felt this was a small cake. i used a 16 oz container of mascarpone so had very full layers but all in all this was a fantastic cake and I am going to try it with chambord and raspberrys next time ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't read the recipe correctly and added the liquor and coffee to 1/3 of the batter, and that portion split when I put in on cooling rack. The frosting helped to hide my mistake and the cake was scrumptios!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I doubled the filling. I also baked 2 cakes. One with double the instant coffee. I also doubled the coffee/kahulua mixture and used espresso instead of coffee. Once the cakes cooled I cut them in half so it was a four layer cake. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This will be my new"go to" cake. Followed pretty much exactly except took the hints to double the coffee and Kahlua every where - nothing but compliments for my Christmas dessert - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ambivalence
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this as a dessert for my christmas dinner. It's absolutely delicious! A fluffy light cake, not very sweet and moist inside. The light cream frosting is very tasty. Definitely will make this again! The only thing I changed is the garnish. I used white chocolate instead of semisweet chocolate, just personal preference. This cake would be great for after dinner, or special gathering over a cup of liquered coffee or white port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Efwah
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This cake was amazing! I followed everyone's suggestions: made 2 layers of coffee cake, made the mascarpone, doubled Kahlua, doubled instant coffee. It turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States