Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good but not exceptional as written. Based on the advice of other reviewers, I added more coffee (subbed coffee for 2/3 water in the cake) for a total of approx. 1 cup coffee in the whole cake. I left the amount of liqueur as written. Coffee taste was still very subtle. Recommend adding more liqueur and coffee to give it a more pronounced flavor and more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Awesome cake. Really moist. easy to make. Will make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelanieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moriah Center, New York, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I reviewed this before with vegan changes, and on making it again for Mother's day realized an error in my icing recipe: it should be 1/2 C each earth balance and shortening, not 1 C each. Sorry about that! It's an amazing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this for a luncheon, it was VERY well received. I did not have a box mix so I made a scratch cake and I think it made a difference in the texture, easier to do that I anticipated, will certainly make again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe! Tiramisu is my favorite dessert and now I can make it so easily and so deliciously at home! Like so many others, I doubled the coffee and kahlua and it turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My filling turned out like soup. Disappointed after all the work I put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraKski
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
First of all, this cake is a terrific 5-star recipe as written! I've made it four times and constantly hear "This is the best tiramisu I've had!" and "Can I have the recipe?" If you like the coffee flavor, I do recommend making 2 layers with coffee grounds (instead of one) as others have said using a total of 4 tsp. instant coffee in the batter once you've poured the first pan of plain batter. And again because I like coffee so much, I use 1 cup coffee and 3 tbsp. coffee liqueur to soak the layers. I've tried using a brush and using a squeeze bottle to soak but I like the brush much better as you have more control. Be sure to soak bottom of cakes as it soaks in much better. Do not use marscapone substitute, use the real thing. I found myself wanting a little bit more filling in the layers last time I made it, so this time I added two heaping spoonfuls of whipped cream cheese, a tad more powdered sugar, and 1 extra tbsp. coffee liqueur, and it was the perfect amount and kept the marscapone taste. Leave the frosting recipe as is. If you add more alcohol, it will be too thin. I put it in my Kitchenaid blender, throw the splashguard on and put the kitchen timer on for 5 minutes. Sometimes I use the shaved chocolate to garnish and sometimes I use strawberries. Again, this recipe is delicious and deserves 5 stars the way it is but above are the tweaks I've made to give it more of a coffee flavor and helpful tips I've learned along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraKski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This is a delicious cake, much enjoyed by all my work colleagues! Thank you for sharing the recipe. I used a homemade white cake recipe but with three layers, they ended up being quite thin. This was ok due to the richness of the filling and frosting, but I'd double the batter next time. In deference to a Muslim colleague who doesn't consume alcohol, I substituted 1 teaspoon of Rum flavoring and 2 teaspoons of coffee essence (we get one in the UK called Camp Coffee). This worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a light delicious cake. So beautiful to look at.Hu8bby loveddddddddddd it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAUREEN58

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made this (as written) for a birthday party, and everyone raved. The only thing different I will do next time is use instant espresso powder instead of instant coffee and for the frosting I'm going to sub brown sugar for the powder sugar which is what I have used on other cakes. I will also try others suggestion and make 2 coffee layers. Still is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States