Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was so impressive, yet SO easy! I did double the coffee liqueur, as others suggested. It tasted just like Tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
OMG!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Did this cake for work and of course changed a few things. I couldn't get the frosting to come out right so instead I mixed what I had done with a cream cheese frosting that I made and it turned out perfect! Infant I'm about to make this for a second time, with the mascarpone substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My family are LDS and we had "Italian" night and modified the recipe using Roma(coffee sub) and chocolate syrup instead of liqeuer. It was Fabulous! My daughter loved it so much, we had to make it again for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Bonzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My grandma said it was the best birthday cake that she ever had! I listened to previous reviewers and made two coffee layers and one white layer. I added a bit more instant coffee to the batter than the recipe called for. Other than that, I followed the recipe as given and it was great. Deliciously moist. Tastes just like tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This cake was too dry and the mascarpone flavor did not really come out. I would definitely add more coffee to the cake to moisten it up. Probably at least twice as much. I use 3 times that much on a similar recipe (not coffee, another liquid) and it is very moist. My family said it was a good cake but did not taste like Tiramisu, which I make homemade a lot and we love. I will probably either modify it or find another recipe. Good idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was amazing!! So beautiful! I added 3 tsp. coffee powder to the cake mixture. For the coffee mixture, I used 1/2 cup espresso + 1 Tbl. Kahlua. I made the filling as written, then for the frosting, I used 2 pkgs. Dream Whip whipped cream + 1/2 cup milk (and removed 2 Tbl. milk) + 2 Tbl. Kahlua (and no vanilla, as called for in Dream Whip). My coffee layer of cake was much taller than the other 2 non-coffee layers, but it turned out to be beautiful presentation! I shaved white and dark chocolate on top of sprinkled cocoa. This is definitely an adult cake, so make sure you serve a separate dessert for the kids. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
boyfriend loved. time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanille
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Made this twice. First advice, if you want to use the cream cheese filling forget the sour cream. it gives it a weird tart/sour taste that does NOT replicate that of mascarpone. for a 9 in cake, you'll only need 1 pack of 8oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup confectioner sugar, and 1/2 c heavy cream. beat the confectioner sugar and cream cheese till smooth and add the cream. proceed to beat on high for 30 seconds and chill. As for as the frosting is concerned, i used 1.5 c heavy cream, 1/3c confectioner sugar, and 3 tablespoons of liqueur. if you have nonfat dry milk powder, add in a tablespoon with the sugar, it'll help with consistency. 1/4C coffee is nowhere enough for the cake. it left the cake dry with a light taste of coffee. second time around, i used 1/2C water. 4 teaspoon instant coffee powder, and 3 Tablespoons of liqueur/rum. ladyfingers may be added to the outside of the cake, and you may finish up with a pretty ribbon and dust the cake with cocoa powder. It'll be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious! I make 2 layers of coffee-flavor cake though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States