Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Ambivalence
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this as a dessert for my christmas dinner. It's absolutely delicious! A fluffy light cake, not very sweet and moist inside. The light cream frosting is very tasty. Definitely will make this again! The only thing I changed is the garnish. I used white chocolate instead of semisweet chocolate, just personal preference. This cake would be great for after dinner, or special gathering over a cup of liquered coffee or white port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Efwah
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This cake was amazing! I followed everyone's suggestions: made 2 layers of coffee cake, made the mascarpone, doubled Kahlua, doubled instant coffee. It turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gatorbek
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe, and it was amazing! :) I absolutely loved it! The flavor was perfect, the baking was fun, and clean-up was fine, nothing too big! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Fancy dessert that is light and flavorful. Great presentation, yet quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babbiec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexis
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I substituted mascarpone cheese for 2 blocks of soften cream cheese, with 1/2 cup heavy cream and 5 Tblsp sour cream. I had extra ingredients, so i made a second cake, but with angel food cake. I got many compliments. I didn't use all the coffee like recipe said. And I would use two boxes of cake mix to make the cake layers thicker, then maybe i would use all the coffee listed in the recipe. I would say this recipe is a easy and simple way to make Tiramisu. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe worked out very well, and it was quite simple to make. It was just dividing up the cake batter that got me confused, but that is about the only thing I can say that is partially negative. Overall, fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Really good recipe. I thought that doubling the marscarpone filling made the cake even better. This has become a family favorite during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
With changes mentioned by other reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe ROCKS ! I have made it a couple times now and have gotten nothing but compliments. I was even was hired to bake some as Christmas presents. The only changes I made were I did not fold a portion of the whip cream mixture into the filling mixture (I got excited and started layering before I read that part lol) I also added not quite another 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar to the frosting as it was not quite sweet enough for my taste buds. Yet it still was not overpoweringly sweet. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this as a birthday cake for my son, who had been trying to get me to make him Tiramisu for years. I never did because I had always heard it was difficult to make. Although this recipe wasn't super easy, it wasn't difficult either. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I doubled the liquor, "only" in the coffee, and used half Bailey's and half Kahlua there). I almost doubled the liquor everywhere because I read so many reviews that suggested this. However, I was glad I didn't when I tasted the final results. I thought it had the perfect balance as it was, I didn't want to taste the liquor...just wanted it as flavoring, and that is how it came out. This cake had a moist, delicious, and well-balanced flavor. My son said that it tasted like an "authentic" Tiramisu, he loved it...and so did everyone else! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States