Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Delicious and beautiful! I made this for Christmas and my family devoured it. I will definitely make this one again. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Any recipe that has received more than twelve hundred reviews deserves a try, and now I can see why it has been rated five-star. I made it for my husband's New Year Eve-birthday, and we--along with our foody guests--agree it is probably the best cake ever. I followed the first reviewer's substitution for mascarpone, other's suggestions to use much more instant coffee when called for in the recipe, and the suggestion to chill the mixing bowl and beaters before whipping the cream. I also suggest that anyone making this for the first time to read the directions thoroughly a few times beforehand and allow PLENTY of time to make this. This cake is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Excellent. Didn't change a thing except I didn't use liqueur. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this cake on New Year's Day for friends and family. Needless to say, it was a huge hit! Compliments included "remarkable,""divine," and "absolutely delicious!" The only adjustments I made were as recommended through reviews and the recipe's video (it portions some of the liqueur into the coffee that gets brushed on each layer). I upped the amount of Kaluah in each mixture, and made the mascarpone substitute instead of forking out the money for it (16 oz cream cheese, 1/2 c sour cream, 1/4 c heavy cream and blend until smooth). It was simple and amazing and beautiful! And I've already been obligated to bring it to upcoming get togethers. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I really struggled with this recipe. For one thing, there were no 18.25 oz cake mixes in any of the three stores I went to. Maybe they're making them smaller than when this recipe was originally posted. The largest I could find was 16.5 oz and my layers came out looking like pancakes. I threw the first batch out, went back to the store and bought two more mixes. I baked the first with the coffee, splitting the batter between two pans and, by the way, I added the instant coffee to the cup of water called for with the mix. Then I made the second mix with just white. I put one layer in the freezer, so had one white and two coffee. I made the filling, did the poking, brushed on a half cup of coffee and liquor, using instant, put the layers together and went to bed. So that took several hours. The next morning, I woke up and watched the video again and realized I needed to put some of the filling in the frosting. It doesn't mention that in the ingredients; only in the instructions. I had to disassemble my layers, scrape off some filling full of crumbs and put it back together. I made three cups of whipped cream and had far more than I could put on my now giant cake. But I served the extra alongside, so people could add more. Everyone loved it, so I guess that's the bottom line. But it takes far longer than two hours, when you factor in the time to let the layers and filling cool and the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hoehn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaelhusky
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Have made several times-and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I liked the recipe although next time ill try makin cake from scratch because I do not like cake box mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Easiest and most successful I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Easiest, most delicious tiramisu. Always gets rave reviews from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OccasionalChef
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I won first place in my company's bake-off with this cake against some pretty stiff competition -- and it was the first time I'd done anything like this. Never made a layer cake before. But it was surprisingly easy. Some people talked about mascarpone being really expensive, but I found it at my local grocery store for $5.99. Didn't seem too bad (considering the substitute ingredients I read about would probably cost close to that). I followed the advice of others and made two layers with the instant coffee and one layer of plain cake. Worked great! Also, I've made this cake twice, and the second time I made the cake layers in advance, wrapped them in plastic wrap, and kept them in the fridge over night. Then I finished the rest of the cake the next day. Tasted just as great as the first time I made it all in one day. I had never made chocolate curls before, but it was really easy with a simple chocolate bar and vegetable peeler. Also, I used a basic mesh strainer for a fine cocoa powder on the top. Looked just like the photos! The video really helped, too. I'd watch that first (and again while cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States