Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Though my marscapone filling was a bit runny(I think it was my mistake), my hubby said I out did myself! Everyone loved it even those who said they don't like coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
really loved it....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used two cake mixes to make three oversize 9 inch rounds. Then I followed the recipe as written and let it "age" in the 'fridge for two days before our get-together. YUMMY! Even non-cake eaters gave this dessert reave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
NickyBaby61--I don't know if you made this mistake, but I slapped my own forehead when I realized it during my first batch. I accidentally mixed up my carton of heavy cream with my carton of buttermilk. So when I mixed the liqueur with the milk, the milk soured. And, of course, since it was buttermilk and not heavy cream, it never formed into a whipped cream texture. *Le sigh* But, I caught on pretty quickly what I did wrong, so that was resolved. As for my own opinion, the recipe is GREAT. I just like the cake to be more moist, so I tripled the coffee mixture (3/4 coffee, 3 tbsp liqueur). I saw another review about freezing the cakes a bit first, though, since the coffee might make the cake crumble a bit. I only read that today after I made the cake again last night. :-P I will remember that for the future. It's a fantastic recipe, otherwise, and it makes you look really pro (without having to go to school for it). The filling and frosting are to die for. I could eat them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My Family loved this cake! I followed the recipe to a T. Didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used the Heavenly White Cake recipe from this site and added 2 T espresso powder to the batter. I also dusted the cakes with cocoa before they baked, then followed the recipe for the filling and icing on this site. I added amaretto liquor in the filling. The cake is moist, the filling and icing luscious! My husband, a tiramisu fan, loved it, although he did comment that the cake should have been soaked in coffee (there wasn't any made when I did the cake). Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdesrochers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
HOLY COW!!! THIS IS IS AWESOME!!! Tastes really light, cream filling and frosting went perfectly with the cake. I was worried about the filling leaking out of the sides of the cake, so after the cake was assembled I used a marinade syringe and squirted the filling into the middle of the cake to fill it up. Fantastic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The overall taste of the Tiramisu was five star, but the actual process and the creation of it was VERY difficult! This recipe is meant for an experienced baker. I really really liked the tiramisu frosting. It was best the 2nd-3rd day after refrigerating. I might attempt this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this for my birthday today. I had hoped it would not be frustrating, but it turned out to be a little more work than I expected. I cut out the coffee liquer (since my toddler will be having a slice, and I didn't want to risk it since the filling and frosting aren't cooked). First, my complaints. I did use cream cheese instead of marscapone, because it wasn't available. It was very hard to 'fold' the frosting into the filling, perhaps I didn't beat the filling enough? Either way, the filling was not very easy to spread, I think next time I make this, I'll just add some of the cream and a little more sugar into the filling and then beat it at a high speed. The frosting, however, was AMAZING, it was so easy to spread, I just hope it sets in the fridge and doesn't dissolve. I did add some cream of tartar to the frosting, just a trick I learned about whipped cream. One the frosting sets, right before serving, I'm going to add the garnish. :3 The frosting and filling were delicious, I licked the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Five star based on taste. Delicious! Had some issues however. First cake I made fell apart, tried a different brand with 4 egg whites and was fine. Due to time restraints and only having yeti cake pans, I made in two layers only. My filling and frosting were more runny than I liked I think because of adding the extra Kahlua liked suggested so don't know what to do about that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States