Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The ONLY reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because I did not follow it as written. I did go with a lot of the other use suggestions and boy am I glad that I did! And you will too!!! First of all...make TWO coffee flavored cake layers, not one. And use 2 teaspoons of instant coffee or more in each layer. Use very strong coffee for the liquid you brush on. Use about 1.5 tablespoons of coffee liquor and about 3/4 cup strong coffee. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee powder to the marscapone filling. Next time, I would add chopped up chocolate pieces into the filling. But this recipe was AMAZING!!! I made it for Halloween and people are still talking about how good it was!!! This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe is amazing! Instead of using the box cake, I used "Clara's White German Chocolate Cake" as a base, still adding the coffee and liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Apple Bottom
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This cake is soooo delicious! Everyone at my dinner party loved this. I pretty much followed the recipe almost to the T. I used Kahlua Hazelnut liqueur, and brewed some hazelnut coffee to go with it. I did not quite drench my cake layers with the coffee/liqueur mixture. Instead, I lightly brushed the mixture on. It worked out just fine. You can hardly feel the affects of the liqueur. Some of my friends were worried they would get drunk off the cake (since they have very low tolerance to alcohol) but they ate it just fine and didn't get buzzed! If you're looking for more of a buzz with this cake, then I suggest doubling the amounts of liqueur in this recipe, or maybe use rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Apple Bottom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe. The frosting, the filling, everything is amazing. Made a white sheet cake from scratch but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Turned out fantastic. If you are looking for a tiramisu recipe this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was the most wonderful tiramisu cake I've ever had and the best part is I made it! Great recipe and I will make it for every special occasion. The response I had from those tasting the cake was "exquisite." The only change I made was doubling all of the Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. It is an excellent concept but the finished product resulted in a Dry Cake that was nothing special. I think with some small changes it could be great though. Here is what I will do next time - For the Cake Use a 1/3 Cup of very strong coffee or Espresso and 1/4 cup coffee liquor per Cake layer. Mix a teaspoon of the instant coffee into 2 layers of the cake. For the Filling - Double the filling recipe and double or triple the amount of coffee liquor in the filling recipe. For the Frosting - Use 1/3 cup of powdered sugar. Make sure all your equipment and the cream is VERY cold. Assembling Cake - Poke holes in the cake using a straw. Use a turkey baster to get coffee/liquor mixture into the holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Four stars only because I didn't make it as written - I used the same mods a lot of users did. I made 2 coffee layers and it wouldn't have been nearly as good with only one. Also I didn't have any coffee liqueur on hand, so I used strong brewed coffee in its place and it turned out fine. :) Hubby and I both loved it and enjoyed this no-raw-egg tiramisu substitute. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe was very bland compared to traditional tiramisu. The cake ratio overpowered the rest of the flavors. It was still tasty, but was nothing like I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
The best Tiramisu cake I ever had. I had baked one yesterday for my niece birthday and everyone really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
In all of the recipes over the years from this site, this is my all time favorite! It does take a little time, but the cake is the absolute best! It looks fantastic, too, so it's great for company. We have made this cake over and over again at our place, and now family/friends ask for it on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States