Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
The recipe was pretty straightforward and easy. It was the first cake i had ever made partially from scratch (except just plain box mixed cake) and it was easy to make and turned out beautifully and delicious. For those who find the cake not to have a deep coffee flavorig i advice you to use a name brand coffee liqeuer for it really gives it a better taste. Also, a stronger coffee brew helps, if you dont have a very good coffee machine your best investment woud be to get brew from your local starbucks or coffee shop. Other than that you can always strenghthen the flavor by using instant powder to the batter of all the layers of the cake. I had made it for my mom's birthday and she loved it! it looked like i had bought it! a had set aside a small portion of the icing and wrote happy birthday on it too! and for the 98% of the liqeuer that left over they can bet i will definatley make it again. *** for all those who gave a single star because their icing and filliing turned too watery.. that is not the recipies fault.. u may have simply over or undermixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lynn06sku
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Huge hit!! So moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn06sku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was delicious! As you're making it, and tasting the frostings, it seems like a lot of alcohol. But by the time it is chilled and served, you can only distinguish the flavor! I made it for my mom's birthday and no one could get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
So good. Everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyinseattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Wow! This recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly, but took the advice of other reviewers and let the cake sit in the fridge overnight after pouring the coffee mixture over the cake. Also, I found that I could have used more coffee mixture, a little more filling, and more cake (although the last was a rookie mistake, I did not distribute the thirds evenly which affected presentation but not taste). I made it for a birthday party and immediately received a request to make it again for another party. If you're thinking about trying this cake, do it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My Italian boyfriend has had many Italians make this for him and he told me this was the best he'd ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this for my mother's birthday cake, and she said it was amazing! Everyone loved it and it was a very simple recipe for something that looked and tasted quite sophistocated. I did add more coffee everything to the cake to enhance the flavour, but would be even more bold another time. I found that the cake can handle a lot more of the soaking liquid, I double it and might even go as far as 3/4 cup in the future. Overall, just really impressed with the flavour and ease of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Incredibly good. Made it for Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent as is! I made this for my uncle's B-day and it was a hit. I'm making it again a week later per my husband's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States