Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was amazing!! So beautiful! I added 3 tsp. coffee powder to the cake mixture. For the coffee mixture, I used 1/2 cup espresso + 1 Tbl. Kahlua. I made the filling as written, then for the frosting, I used 2 pkgs. Dream Whip whipped cream + 1/2 cup milk (and removed 2 Tbl. milk) + 2 Tbl. Kahlua (and no vanilla, as called for in Dream Whip). My coffee layer of cake was much taller than the other 2 non-coffee layers, but it turned out to be beautiful presentation! I shaved white and dark chocolate on top of sprinkled cocoa. This is definitely an adult cake, so make sure you serve a separate dessert for the kids. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
boyfriend loved. time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanille
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Made this twice. First advice, if you want to use the cream cheese filling forget the sour cream. it gives it a weird tart/sour taste that does NOT replicate that of mascarpone. for a 9 in cake, you'll only need 1 pack of 8oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup confectioner sugar, and 1/2 c heavy cream. beat the confectioner sugar and cream cheese till smooth and add the cream. proceed to beat on high for 30 seconds and chill. As for as the frosting is concerned, i used 1.5 c heavy cream, 1/3c confectioner sugar, and 3 tablespoons of liqueur. if you have nonfat dry milk powder, add in a tablespoon with the sugar, it'll help with consistency. 1/4C coffee is nowhere enough for the cake. it left the cake dry with a light taste of coffee. second time around, i used 1/2C water. 4 teaspoon instant coffee powder, and 3 Tablespoons of liqueur/rum. ladyfingers may be added to the outside of the cake, and you may finish up with a pretty ribbon and dust the cake with cocoa powder. It'll be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious! I make 2 layers of coffee-flavor cake though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nymbus
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is sitting in my fridge right now, waiting to be eaten. Looks and smells awesome... will post update after we eat the entire thing. Doubled the coffee just like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by maybngo
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I've made this cake several times now and it's a hit every time! I've followed all the different suggestions and I make 2 coffee layers and two plain. This makes for a really pretty layered cake look when you cut into it. One adjustment I've made is to add about 1/4 cup of heavy cream to the mascarpone/comfectioners' sugar mix and then whip it. This way you don't have to carefully fold the whip cream in and it comes out thicker and easier to spread. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I doubled the filling and the amount of coffee/liquor to compensate for a larger cake round; I wasn't sorry. The cake was amazing--- new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I love it, really a wonderful recipe. I made it just as is and my family devoured it in a day. I was extremely pleased. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowe4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was awesome! I think that the suggestions for mascarpone substitutions are right on. Do be careful in following some of the other suggestions, though, as the first time I made this cake it was so soggy it fell apart. I doubled the liquer and coffee that I poured over the cake per several reviews and it was too much. Maybe use 2 TB coffee and 2 TB liquer? The adults loved the taste of the Kahlua although it was still very subtle so I think you definitely do want to double that. I also made 2 coffee layers and 1 plain and would do that again. I bought 3 oz of dark chocolate and shaved 1/3 to top the cake with and then kept the remaining 2/3 and shaved some extra over every slice. Everyone loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made per the recipe & though it was very good, I feel it could be even better. Unlike most other reviwers I felt there was enough coffee flavor. What I didn't like was the fact that the mascarpone cream was lost. Next time I'd make just 2 cake layers so that the filling will be more prominent. I'd also probably skip the ground coffee layer & perhaps double up on the drizzle instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States