Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was an experiment as I'd never made tiramisu before...and it turned out amazing! Definitely some things to learn...but the main thing is that I had to beat the frosting for 11 minutes before it was a consistency to spread, so don't stop mixing too soon. I also folded in about a cup of the filling with the frosting prior to decorating the cake :)...and, as mentioned in a previous review, I didn't use any liqueur in the frosting but used about a T of instant coffee powder instead. I had tried, and failed, with the additional liquid of the liqueur and it turned out awful. I, also, did two layers coffee mixture and only one white cake layer. This is going to be in high demand from my friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Best cake (I) ever made! Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it! This is a keeper. I did up the coffee and liquor per suggested by some of the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
OMG this is the best cake ever! Double where ever it says to add coffee though. even on the kahlua. I used espresso instead of brewed coffee also. And make it the night before so it can set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Love love love this cake! It looks so elegant, yet it was not difficult to make at all. I made it for Christmas and was asked to make it again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I used 'Heavenly White Cake' instead of a boxed mix, used Starbucks coffee liquer because it has a much stronger coffee taste than Kahlua, and had half marscapone, half whipped cream in the outer layer. I used a tbsp of coffee in the bottom layer and doubled the liquer everywhere. I thought the cake was still seriously lacking in coffee flavour so I whipped up a coffee sauce (coffee, sugar and heavy cream). I served each slice on top of the sauce. It was a huge hit! I'll serve it the same way next time, with the sauce. The recipe as written was only 3 stars but with my changes it's 5 stars and I think I preferred this to regular tiramisu. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This cake is OUTSTANDING!! It not only looks professional, but it even tastes as good or even better. All of the components are good the flavored whipped cream, the mascarpone cheese, the cake, and the chocolate. I was looking for a cake for a birthday and I decided to make this one. It was much more affordable than buying a similar fancy cake to. Not including the liqueur, it cost me $11 dollars to buy all of the ingredients which I basically didn't have. I was very tempted to decorate it my own way. However, after reading all of the great reviews I decided to make and decorated it exactly, which is rare. I am glad I did, because it really gives the cake that tiramisu appearance. The directions were so precise, and easy to follow, and I loved the fancy yet easy chocolate curl technique. Thank you, for posting such a nice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Only change I made was to used doubldbthe kahlua in the batter....taste tested it making it as listed before baking and it needs more flavor....easily fixed kith more liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by essensual911
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe almost to the T, except I increase the instant espresso powder to 2 tablespoons for 2 dark layers (and one white) and double coffee flavored liquer through out (Hazelnut Bailey). Mascarpone cheese tastes delicate and beautiful while cream cheese has a subtle sour flavor so mascarpone wins in this recipe. The double thick cream whipped up like a dream for frosting and so easy to spread. The amounts of filling and frosting are perfect for a 9-inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Absolutely amazing and recipe is easy to follow. I have made this at least 5 times now and always goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was easy and a great way to make tiramisu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States