Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made per the recipe & though it was very good, I feel it could be even better. Unlike most other reviwers I felt there was enough coffee flavor. What I didn't like was the fact that the mascarpone cream was lost. Next time I'd make just 2 cake layers so that the filling will be more prominent. I'd also probably skip the ground coffee layer & perhaps double up on the drizzle instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is delicious I just added more expresso and coffe licour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
YUM! This was so good. I did make some changes. First of all, make sure you use coffee powder, not instant coffee. Some reviewer said that their instant coffee did not desolve. That is because the recipe calls for coffee powder. As the other reviewers did, I doubled the coffee powder, kahlua, and coffee whereever it called for those ingredients. I made 3 layers of cake. One plain and 2 coffee flavored ones. I also used cream cheese for the filling. The frosting is basically homemade whipping cream with an added kick. It helps to have a cold beaters and cold bowl to beat it in. This recipe was really good and I will make it again. I made it the day before so the flavors would intesify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I LOVE this cake. I have made it twice and both times it's been a hit. Letting it sit for a while in the fridge before serving is best so it can soak up all the flavors. Only thing I may have done to change it is to make it a little more boozy with a couple more tablespoons of Kahlua but really it's perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
LOVED THIS CAKE!! I made it to take to work, so instead of using the coffee liqueur, I used rum extract and espresso. turned out to be INSANELY Good.. huge hit. even the lady who doesn't like coffee took a slice home with her lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidBlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is seriously an epically awesome cake! It's easy to make, and one of those recipes that make people think you put 100x more work into it than you actually did. Quick to put together, and tastes amazing. It's also a very forgiving recipe, as I didn't follow it to a T and was still wonderful. Didn't want to spend 8 dollars for a teaspoon of instant coffee, so I skipped it altogether. Poured about 1/4 cup of coffee into the cake mix, and doubled all of the kahlua measurements. (4 table spoons instead of 2 in ALL parts where kahlua was required). The next time I make it, I might use 3/4 cup of coffee drizzle instead of 1/2, as some of it inevitably falls off he edges. Regardless, this cake barely lasted a day in the house. Light, airy, easy. Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Delicious. My variations: (1) I omitted the third layer (didn't have any instant coffee/espresso powder on hand) and just did 2 white layers. (2) Instead of adding coffee liqueur to the frosting, I whipped the cream and sugar and then folded in the reserved filling. It tasted perfect as is and I thought adding more liqueur might have been overpowering. It was a hit with our friends and my very picky husband - everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This cake was awesome...im only a teenager but it was pretty easy to make, with a little help. A couple things to make it even better: use 2 cake pans, and cut the plain cake in half. saves cleaning! also, definitely use a stand mixer to whip the icing...i tried it by hand and after 2 hours, (yes, 2 hours!), it didnt whip!!! but then, i tried using my mom's stand mixer, and it was done in two minutes!! one more thing, use mini chocolate chips for decor...it looks cool and tastes really good:) as for the taste...it tasted awesome! i'm making it for my dad on father's day, because he loves coffee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizidiv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this cake last night for a BBQ. Everyone one loved it! It was gone in 30 mins. Light, fluffy and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
this was amazing... I followed the recipe exactly and it was a little work but completely worth it. Definately something that would impress guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Bateman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States