Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Loved it! Added a little extra coffee liqueur, and used a caramel flavored coffee, and along with the cocoa on top I sprinkled some of the instant coffee too. It was a huge hit with everyone! And it was very light, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
The family didn't care for this. They felt it tasted processed, something you would buy in the supermarket. It may be the quality of the cake mix I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
DELICIOUS CAKE! I have repeated this recipe 3 times now and keep getting requests for more from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
GREAT Taste, but still pretty putsy. I have never made the original version with Lady Fingers, but I had a frustrating time with my 3 layers of white cake; the amount that baked up in the pans was approximately less than 2" high and very flimsy.... Lady Fingers are far more dense, so trying to get the cake out from the pans in one piece did NOT happen no matter how much I greased down the pans and floured them, per instructions. I would skip the round pans, and just do square pans. I think Tiramisu would be so much better if chefs would just focus on the TASTE not the goofy fancy ordeal it takes to make it. If I made Tiramisu my way, it would be one cake layer and one cream layer, with chocolate shavings on top. I'm sure it would taste exactly the same, just have a slightly different texture compared to a multi-layered dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Marty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hailee Jacobson
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
It is so helpful to read the reviews before making this cake! I made it with some of the modifications and it came out absolutely fantastic!! 1- Definitely do 2 coffee layers and 1 regular cake layer. I used the aluminum disposable cake pans in the baking aisle. Super easy- and come in a pack of three! 2- When assembling the cake I put a wax paper border on the edges of the plate so drippings and extra frosting would fall on the wax paper and that can be pulled out from under the cake and tossed- leaving a clean plate! 3- Assemble the cake and drench with coffee as you go!! If people had crumbling cake I wonder if they soaked in the cake pans before stacking? Don't do that! Cake, poke, pour, fill, next layer. 3- I used 1/4 cup coffee and 1 tablespoon of Kahlua PER layer. 4- DEFINITELY double the filling. It's so tasty. If you have read other reviews they tell you to double the Kahlua everywhere. I totally agree with this. Some people have complained that their filling it too runny. The key is that if you add more liquid (aka Kahlua) you'll also need to add a little extra powdered sugar to thicken it up. 5-Same goes with the frosting. If you double the Kahlua here, you'll need a couple extra tablespoons of powdered sugar. The frosting is NOT too sweet, it's actually perfect. I know that others have substituted cream cheese for the mascarpone... but if you are going to go to the trouble to make a tiramisu cake, go for the mascarpone. It's worth it. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hailee Jacobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin G.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Delicious!!! This was the first time I ever attempted to make tiramisu but it won't be the last. I took the advice of some of the reviews by doubling the measurements for the coffee (instant and liquids). I also liked the recommendation to put slices of wax paper underneath the edges of the cake while putting it together. The wax paper collects the extraneous icing, cocoa and chocolate shavings. Pull the paper away from the perimeter of cake once you have your finished product. Since I needed the cake to serve 20 people, I doubled the recipe and baked two cakes in 9x13 pans... one plain and one with the instant coffee granules. I sliced each one lengthwise. This gave me four layers. I had plenty of filling and icing by doubling the recipe. All of the guests really enjoyed the tiramisu cake and were shocked I had never made it before. It is not difficult to make. The instructions are well written. It is, however, a bit time consuming so plan accordingly and bake the cake the night before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is really extremely good (5 stars) as written. To make even better, I found that the following changes help: Make two cake mixes. Use espresso powder for a stronger taste and add 1 tablespoon to one of the cake mixes. Cook the cakes as directed so that you end up with 4 thick layers. Double the filling. I also doubled the coffee liquor (so I ended up with 8 T total). Also - if you are in a hurry or don't have heavy cream, whip topping doubles as a quick frosting layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
After making this twice this is what I learned also combined with others' suggestions: 1. cake: easier to split batter in two, freeze about 2 hours, use bread knife to cut in half, there will be 4 layers instead of 3 and much easier to make; mixing instant coffee with 1/4 cup of water then add to batter helps to increase the coffee flavor 2. coffee/liquor: double or even triple to have enough to cover cake layers 3. filling: mascarpone makes a difference, use it, tip: 1/2 cup of frosting is needed in the filling - don't wait till the end to make the frosting. Assembly - use a large bowl, you don't have to worry about frosting sides and tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Neegee
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
So very moist and delicious this cake was a big hit in our house! My son was impressed I made it for his birthday. So easy yet a complex flavor that made it taste like a specialty bakery cake. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Tastes just like tiramisu. I used my own yellow cake recipe and kahlua for the liqueur. A little sweet but overall a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States