Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Delicious and crowd pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Did you REALLY make this? This is awesome! Tastes like a fancy bakery. These are the comments I heard after making this for my mom's birthday. She loves Tiramisu and all other recipes on this site looked too involved. This turned out wonderful, and the taste was great. I used a Kahlua and Vanilla Coffee, a little packet of instant flavored Vanilla Coffee and a Kahlua type liquor. Tasted wonderful! I don't even like coffee! The layered effect is really nice and although it takes a little time to put together it is well worth the comments I received from my family. You have to try it! Looks very fancy with shaved Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate on top and a dusting of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I just made this cake today for a birthday. It is fantastic! Our local grocery store didn't have mascarpone cheese so I used cream cheese instead. The cake turned out beautiful. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This looked so fancy, and tasted fancy too! I used a classic white cake recipe so that I was able to claim that I actually made the whole thing myself from SCRATCH (though it took a little longer). This was my first time making a cake and from this one, I feel like an expert. It was a bit hard to frost the cake since the whip cream frosting was so light, but I got the hang of it after awhile, and the taste of the frosting with the cake was worth the work! Next time, and BOY will there be next times, I will make more than just a 1/4 cup of the coffee mixture to pour onto the cake layers because I would really like that flavor to stand out a bit more as well as add some extra moistness to the cake. And I'll make more of the frosting too, since that was so good that I'd like a thicker layer of it on the cake (I started running out while frosting...too many licks). But other than that, this is a real winner. Thanks so much, Bettina, for sharing this fabulous recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Nice, moist cake and the frosting turned out great! I would have liked a bit more coffee flavor. I think I will increase the flavor crystals or add them to all layers. In addition, I would recommend using espresso instead of drip coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Absolutely Wonderful - Moist and Beautiful Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I made this cake to take to a relativies house and she made a tiramisu dessert with lady fingers, this cake was a hit it was better than the one using lady fingers everyone loved it!! I will make this over & over! Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!!! My mother and my husband loved it. Had to give my mom the recipe. I could probably finish off the entire cake by myself in a day or two. Did not want to finish my piece...savored every morsel. I will use this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This cake is OUTSTANDING! Lots of raves and one of my favorites. I could not find the mascarpone cheese, so I used regular cream cheese. I also used a cup of Pampered Chef's flavored coffee (1/3 C. per layer) and for the dusting, I combined Ghiradelli's Mocha Hot Chocolate, Cocoa and International's brand instant coffee-Swisse Mocha flavor in order to take the edge off of pure Cocoa as well as combine the coffee/chocolate flavors of the cake. Molto Bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Great recipe and wonderful taste. Next I make this (and I imagine I'll make this cake many more times) I will drizzle the layers with a little more coffee to obtain the soaked layers effect classic tiramisu has. The marscapone filling was a little grainy instead of smooth. Not sure why, but tasted greated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States