Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Loved this! I followed the instructions almost to a T but did what a lot of reviewers mentioned and made two coffee layers. I also doubled the coffee in the cake mix but decided not to double the liquor. I was worried I would regret not doubling the liquor, but it didn't seem to lack in flavor at all. I made and assembled it the day before my moms birthday and kept it in the fridge til serving time. It was a huge hit! Even the non-coffee lovers in our family loved it. One other thing I did differently was I actually used two cake mixes because I didn't want to have such thin layers. I used almost all of the batter, filling each pan til it was about half full. I loved having thicker cake layers and the frosting was still enough to cover my whole cake. I think next time I will try making this with a homemade cake recipe instead of box. My mom said I'm in charge of making all the birthday cakes from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Made this for some friends and it was awesome! Not a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclary2
Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this cake for a culinary competition at my school. I won first place! I did alter the recipe though. Instead of using white cake, I made a sponge cake, (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/glorious-sponge-cake/detail.aspx). The cake absorbed the coffee much better and didn't get the unappealing mealy texture of wet cake. I also did 4 layers instead of 3, and doubled the amount of filling. I didn't mix any coffee into any of the cake layers, just gave them a good basting of brewed coffee. I didn't use coffee liqueur either, and you couldn't even tell. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
In a word..fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Though my marscapone filling was a bit runny(I think it was my mistake), my hubby said I out did myself! Everyone loved it even those who said they don't like coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
really loved it....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used two cake mixes to make three oversize 9 inch rounds. Then I followed the recipe as written and let it "age" in the 'fridge for two days before our get-together. YUMMY! Even non-cake eaters gave this dessert reave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
NickyBaby61--I don't know if you made this mistake, but I slapped my own forehead when I realized it during my first batch. I accidentally mixed up my carton of heavy cream with my carton of buttermilk. So when I mixed the liqueur with the milk, the milk soured. And, of course, since it was buttermilk and not heavy cream, it never formed into a whipped cream texture. *Le sigh* But, I caught on pretty quickly what I did wrong, so that was resolved. As for my own opinion, the recipe is GREAT. I just like the cake to be more moist, so I tripled the coffee mixture (3/4 coffee, 3 tbsp liqueur). I saw another review about freezing the cakes a bit first, though, since the coffee might make the cake crumble a bit. I only read that today after I made the cake again last night. :-P I will remember that for the future. It's a fantastic recipe, otherwise, and it makes you look really pro (without having to go to school for it). The filling and frosting are to die for. I could eat them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My Family loved this cake! I followed the recipe to a T. Didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used the Heavenly White Cake recipe from this site and added 2 T espresso powder to the batter. I also dusted the cakes with cocoa before they baked, then followed the recipe for the filling and icing on this site. I added amaretto liquor in the filling. The cake is moist, the filling and icing luscious! My husband, a tiramisu fan, loved it, although he did comment that the cake should have been soaked in coffee (there wasn't any made when I did the cake). Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdesrochers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States