Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was a great recipe but it required so many revisions that I only gave it four stars instead of five. First I read all the reviews prior to making the cake and I want to thank everyone who took the time to leave such helpful tips. I made two layers with one coffee flavored and divided both layers into a four layer cake. I used Tia Maria liqueur instead of Kahlua because Tia Maria has a stronger coffee flavor. I also substituted instant espresso powder for the instant coffee (Medaglia D'Oro brand). The biggest problem was overcoming the artificial vanilla in the boxed cake mix. Never again will I use a box mix for this cake. I still doubled the liqueur every time the recipe called for it and I used a small spray bottle to spray the coffee/liqueur mixture onto the cake layers. The icing came out better than I imagined. I had nightmares about the icing from all the negative comments. Next time I will double the mascarpone mixture. Surprisingly this cake turned out fabulous thanks to all the helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We decided to go with an Italian themed Christmas dinner this year, so my husband made homemade lasagna and I went with this cake. It is absolutely wonderful. Easy to prepare and assemble. Everyone commented on how moist it was and that it was just the right amount of sweet without being to sweet. I also made 2 of the layers with coffee and doubled the Kahlua anywhere coffee liqueur was called for. I will definitely be making this cake again. My mom has already called for an Italian Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent, I used the mascarpone substitute and increased coffee at least 3x what recipe called for. Awesome success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anointedanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful. Better than any bakery bought one. Definitely worthy of being made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The ONLY reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because I did not follow it as written. I did go with a lot of the other use suggestions and boy am I glad that I did! And you will too!!! First of all...make TWO coffee flavored cake layers, not one. And use 2 teaspoons of instant coffee or more in each layer. Use very strong coffee for the liquid you brush on. Use about 1.5 tablespoons of coffee liquor and about 3/4 cup strong coffee. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee powder to the marscapone filling. Next time, I would add chopped up chocolate pieces into the filling. But this recipe was AMAZING!!! I made it for Halloween and people are still talking about how good it was!!! This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe is amazing! Instead of using the box cake, I used "Clara's White German Chocolate Cake" as a base, still adding the coffee and liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This cake is soooo delicious! Everyone at my dinner party loved this. I pretty much followed the recipe almost to the T. I used Kahlua Hazelnut liqueur, and brewed some hazelnut coffee to go with it. I did not quite drench my cake layers with the coffee/liqueur mixture. Instead, I lightly brushed the mixture on. It worked out just fine. You can hardly feel the affects of the liqueur. Some of my friends were worried they would get drunk off the cake (since they have very low tolerance to alcohol) but they ate it just fine and didn't get buzzed! If you're looking for more of a buzz with this cake, then I suggest doubling the amounts of liqueur in this recipe, or maybe use rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe. The frosting, the filling, everything is amazing. Made a white sheet cake from scratch but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Turned out fantastic. If you are looking for a tiramisu recipe this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was the most wonderful tiramisu cake I've ever had and the best part is I made it! Great recipe and I will make it for every special occasion. The response I had from those tasting the cake was "exquisite." The only change I made was doubling all of the Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States