Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Janmarie1964
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake received rave reviews from my family on Easter Sunday. I made primarily for my tiramisu loving Mom and she just went on and on about it. I made the recipe as written but did add a cake extender recipe because I wanted thicker layers. This was a surprisingly light cake and the whipped cream frosting held up just great. I made the cake a day ahead which I thought helped the flavor. It also traveled well as it is a 40 minute trip to my Mom's house. The cake didn't shift at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
A good cake, but not "over the top" for me. I thought it was quite time consuming to make. I used 2 cake mixes as I prefer thick cake layers, not little skinny pancake like layers. The filling was very runny but I believe that to be due to my error in mixing the filling ingredients. My family said they loved the cake, but I think I will take the money and time to make actual tiramisu next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
AWESOME!!!Made this cake last weekend and it was my first attempt at baking. I hated baking until last weekend. lol I have people in my family that do not like coffee so I modified it slightly. Instead of pouring the liqueur over each layer of the cake I added it to the batter of the 3 cake and then baked it. Cake still turned out great with coffee taste, just not as strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
delicious recipe. Make sure you read the recipe 3 or 4 times before starting.the order of ingredients does not really follow the recipe precisely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
OMG, the BEST thing ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen w

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Excellent cake when you need soemthing impressive and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Made it exactly as posted and it was a huge it with everyone. This is easy to make and tastes like to spent all day working on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Tastes just like the Tiramisu I had in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
PERFECTO!!! I made this cake for my aunts birthday party and EVERYONE loved it, After reading the reviews I did double the espresso powder, coffee, and the liqueur for the cake. Because my family isn't fond of a strong liqueur taste I followed the filling and the frosting directions as written. I was traveling with the cake for about 30 minutes I was afraid that the cake would shift in transit but I was wrong! It was not only the prettiest cake that I made ( I stenciled the cocoa powder on the top using a paper lace doily as another reviewer suggested) but it was the perfect finish to an Italian meal. Nice and light with awesome flavor. Thanks to this cake I have become the requested baker for our future celebrations! Thank you for the recipe and all of the helpful reviews :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Fabulous, I made this fabulous layered cake as indicated and it's perfect. Light and moist and perfectly flavored in each layer. This recipe exceeded my expectations. I would not change anything. This cake will impress everyone. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States