Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious and easy! I used a bit more Kahlua for drizzling than called for, I like it so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This cake is OUTSTANDING! I took the advice of others and doubled the Kahlua and made sure to refrigerate it so the frosting could set well. Note: I only found it necessary to whip the heavy cream about 2 1/2 minutes, overwhipping is not a good thing. Also the layers only baked about 12 minutes, not 20. Absolutely FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Made as bday cake for my best friend...and she and her husband LOVED it. Delicious and although a lot of steps, it really is quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I whipped up only two layers, although next time I will double the drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I make this cake for a house party and it followed the directions to a tee. No where in the recipe did it say to chill the beaters before whipping the cream mixture. Might think about adding that! It sure would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this cake for 8 ladies for a bunco night. I got rave reviews from everyone This cake was absolutely delicious! It was easy to make and looked beautiful. It could have easily been on display in a bakery window. I did increase the instant coffee in cake to two Tbl. as some of the other reviewers suggested. Otherwise kept recipe as written. I will definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Loved it and so did our entire family at christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miekai
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
THE BEST EVER!!!! -if youre using mascarpone substitute (8oz cream cheese, 2.5 tbsp sour cream, 1/4c heavy cream) refridgerate the finished cake overnight or more. It gets rid of the fresh sour cream taste- into a real mascarpone cheese taste!! Plus the icing sets in better. -Use bittersweet chocolate for garnishing and coco powder -like the other reviewers suggested, pour the coffee on the cake thats upside down because that soaks up better!!! -Betty Crocker's white cake mix is not so good as before :(( -finally, yes... triple, double, the liquers, and make two coffee cake layers, not one because the coffee taste is very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miekai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was disappointed by the way this cake turned out. I made it exactly as stated and it was good, but not what I expected. I think I was expecting something a little more moist and with more of a coffee/liquor taste. In hind sight, I should have just made tiramisu if that was what I was after. This may be better with more coffee/liquor added as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good! Frosting was very mouse-like and delicious. I also used Starbuck's coffee liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States