Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
The flavors were excellent, but the cake part with the coffee mix in didn't want to come out of the pan without falling apart. I looked horrible, but the taste excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Yummy! We made this cake for my dad for Father's Day and we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful Justice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this for Christmas eve dinner with my husband and it was delicious! I over beat the whipped cream frosting but what a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was good but I took the reviews and and listened on adding the extra on the coffee and kahula and kinda wish I hadn't. The kahula was a little stronger than it needed to be for Tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Simply the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved this one! followed the recipe, was easy, even i liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have made this cake twice now for teacher luncheons and have gotten rave reviews. The presentation is beautiful and it tastes amazing. I stuck pretty much to the recipe except for a couple of changes. I didn't like the texture of the coffee granules in the cake the first time and like others I also wanted two coffee layers. I only had two 9 in round pans so I put 1/3 of white batter in one pan. I then mixed the coffee granules in 1 tablespoon hot water and added it to the other 2/3 batter and put it in the other 9 inch pan. The pan with more batter will need to bake a little longer. When it was done and cooled I cut it in half using a large piece of dental floss. Wrap it completely around the cake positioned in the middle, cross the strands and pull in opposite directions until sliced in half. Assemble with white layer in the middle. Awesome cake and works great made a day ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My cake looked beautiful but did not taste very good at all. Everyone at our family gathering liked the frosting and the cake but none of us liked the filling. I would make the cake again some time sans filling. And instead of using off brand coffee liqueur, I would use Khalua for a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Italiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Fabulous. Only thing is make a day ahead for the cake to set or it will be too moist. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! I gave 5 stars even though I changed it a little bit (don't hate me!). I made two coffee layers and one white layer. Due to personal preference I did not use the coffee liqueur but just stronger coffee. The mascarpone cheese was just too expensive so I substituted one brick of cream cheese with a small amount of cream, and powdered sugar. Did not poke holes and soak cake but merely brushed the layers with coffee before assembly. I whipped the cream with a little powdered sugar (no coffee or anything else in the frosting), and frosted the cake. Made the day before Easter and let it set up in the fridge. RAVE REVIEWS from everyone!! The comments were "nice and light", and "I love the subtle coffee flavor." I'm so pleased with this recipe!! Will make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States